Skiers' French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My family loves this dish. After making it the second time I did butter the pan first. We substituted a loaf of regular white bread so it did take a bit longer that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Way too sweet. Just make regular french toast. It was so sweet my kids wouldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very good custard/creme brulee' consistency. We made it with the following modifications: Add 3 T water to sugar topping mixture & microwave 1 min. and STIR till sugar is totally dissolved. Pour into well sprayed glass pan and let stand for 10 min. Use enough bread to make 3 layers sprinkling cinnamon between layers. Make custard mixture with 6 eggs, 1 T. vanilla, 1 c . half&half, 1 1/2 c. milk and 1/3 cup Splenda instead of sugar if you want to decrease overall sugar calories (does it matter @ this point?) SLOWLY pour custard mixture over bread. Cover and chillovernight. Dot top with butter & bake at 350 for 50 minutes. Invert on serving plate to serve. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was really good. Something quick and easy, but not a huge fan of how sweet it was and the Husband didn't like how soft it was in the middle. I toasted and double layered some left-over white bread because I needed to use it up, and I wonder if that's why it was a little squishy in the middle. It did get pretty hard on the top from baking which was good, but the center just wasn't done enough... Probably not the recipes fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Delicious! I made one minor change. I used whole wheat bread instead of white bread because I prefer meals with higher fiber content. Very, very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is really great if done properly. I turn the oven to 400 and it helps with the sogginess factor. I also cut the milk down to 3/4 cup. It is extremely sweet but worth it once and awhile. The syrup is great to make on its own for waffles, pancakes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was excellent. It went over well with the kids and adults alike. I used a day old Tuscan loaf and left the crusts on, as the texture is nice once cooked. I also added cinnamon to the egg/milk mixture. For those who believe it to be too soggy, try increasing the cooking time. Mine was in the oven almost an hour and came out perfectly all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Love this recipe. It is a great when you have company. I've made it several times these past few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe Lynn
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very good! But I would definitely recommend keep the syrup in the cabinet, the condiment overdoes it. Other than that, absolutely DELICIOUS. OH! Don't forget your powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Wow! This was the best french toast I've made! I used thick slices of old french bread and next time I will increase the syrup and egg/milk mixture and I'll try adding fruit. I think the trick to not harden the syrup is not to over boil it or simmer for more than a couple minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States