Skewered Grilled Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Okay, I've made this 4 times now, and have a few conclusions and suggestions. 1-When cooking the potatoes in the micro, don't bother measuring the water--just cover the taters with water. Also, cover the bowl with a glass lid or plate or something; it makes the potatoes cook evenly much better. 2-I used apple juice instead of wine each time, and it's been great. 3-I only use about 1/4 cup of water, so the marinade sticks to the potatoes better. 4-Once they're skewered, I salt them generously before grilling them. Delicious! Even the kids love them and ask for them at each barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
What a great recipe. I used small red potatoes (so cooked them whole) and 1 tsp chopped, fresh rosemary instead of the dried, other than these adjustments, I followed the recipe. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Excellent... followed others review & used good seasons dressing with about 1/8 lite mayo. I don't have a grill, so I microwaved the potatoes & then broiled them in the oven for 10 minutes. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I made these just as the recipe indicated with the exception that I cut it in half. The potatoes turned out great. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I didn't think these potatoes were anything special, however, everyone just loved them. I thought they were better the next morning when we fried them in a little butter and had them for breakfast. Salt and pepper is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Surprisingly not that great. I love the pre-cook method, but the marinade just didn't give the potatoes enough flavor. But served alongside Savory Grilled Corn and Flip-Flop Grilled Chicken, we didn't really care because those two recipes (also from this site) are OUT OF THIS WORLD! But this one...not so much. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
We loved these! BUT I added some packet onion soup to the marinade! YUMMY! I think it added the flavor the other reviewers said was missing. I also added a shake of parm, green/red peppers, onion and whole mushrooms to the skewer. This was a great base thought to grilling potatoes though. Thanks for the mayo & rosemary marinade idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Tasted a bland, next time will add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
really good I didn't use the wine but added ranch dressing and parmessan cheese really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I love this method, didn't do exactly as the recipes says... I microwaved the potatoes as it says to, then I just marinade it in Good Seasons italian dressing (I add a little mayo to it to make creany and so it will stick better) Then grill as it says, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States