Skewered Cantaloupe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Grilled Cataloupe? You bet, this recipe was awesome. I would have never suspected grilled fruit could taste so good until I tasted this recipe at a friends house. I suspect it's got something to do with the ice cream and sauce on the side . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I made this for a BBQ dinner party last night. Everyone thought I was weird when I started putting cantaloupe on the grill, but then they tried it. Everyone loved it! I was pleasantly surprised myself. I served the cantaloupe over ice cream and poured the sauce on top. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for a really great and different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fair Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Delicious recipe and concept! Make sure your pieces are pretty big chunks. My husband loved the texture. Ca't wait to make this for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Not very impressive. The mint conflicted with the melon too much. I think it would have been better with only the butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Love, love, love the texture of BBQ cantaloupe! Great also seasoned with salt & pepper on baby spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
the sauce was delicious with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I was underwhelmed. The idea is cool, but there wasn't enough flavor for us. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
Mmmm... a nice change!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Wow. Grilled deserts just don't get any better than this. Simple, quick, and unbelievably delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
It's hard to beat the naturally sweet flavor of cantaloupe! I played with this recipe a bit...reduced mint to 1 tsp, marinated the fruit in ingredients listed in recipe for 2 hours, fruit came out a bit mushy afterwards. You could reduce marinating time, or as I did with a new batch: -Marinate in the freezer, just until the mix started to freeze. Let this batch warm enough to drain, let come to room temp & grilled per the recipe. Just a hint of mint and very good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mngardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States