Skewered Cantaloupe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
It's hard to beat the naturally sweet flavor of cantaloupe! I played with this recipe a bit...reduced mint to 1 tsp, marinated the fruit in ingredients listed in recipe for 2 hours, fruit came out a bit mushy afterwards. You could reduce marinating time, or as I did with a new batch: -Marinate in the freezer, just until the mix started to freeze. Let this batch warm enough to drain, let come to room temp & grilled per the recipe. Just a hint of mint and very good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mngardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Was an ok summer recipe, not too sweet, but perfect for an after barbque dinner treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I'm a huge cantaloupe fan and generally adore grilled fruit. So I was certain I would love this recipe. Unfortunately it failed to meet my expectations. The mint overpowered the light flavor that makes this melon so good in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Really good but we prefer cold with a squeeze of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Not very impressive. The mint conflicted with the melon too much. I think it would have been better with only the butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Delicious recipe and concept! Make sure your pieces are pretty big chunks. My husband loved the texture. Ca't wait to make this for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Wow. Grilled deserts just don't get any better than this. Simple, quick, and unbelievably delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Love, love, love the texture of BBQ cantaloupe! Great also seasoned with salt & pepper on baby spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I was underwhelmed. The idea is cool, but there wasn't enough flavor for us. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I made this for a BBQ dinner party last night. Everyone thought I was weird when I started putting cantaloupe on the grill, but then they tried it. Everyone loved it! I was pleasantly surprised myself. I served the cantaloupe over ice cream and poured the sauce on top. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for a really great and different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fair Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Grilled Nectarines

See how to make grilled nectarines drizzled with a homemade raspberry sauce.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States