Sizzling Sherry Shrimp with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Overall I really enjoyed this recipe but I should have read the suggestions of other reviewers before preparing it. Then I would have known to add the garlic at the end. Because it was added at the beginning the garlic was way overcooked. I used sherry and next time I will probably double the sherry, reduce the olive oil by half and add a T of butter to the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made it with calamari and it came out wonderful I put it on a bed of fresh spinach. I did tweak the recipe some to suit my taste but this was a good foundational start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHuntress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caribou, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am going to try it again, to see if better ingredients will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I love this recipe!!! I can't tell you how many times I've made it for myself and others!!! Quick and easy to make. One of my favorites!!!! MMNYC13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was really good and quick! My whole family (with the exception of my picky 2 yr old) loved it! I used small size frozen shrimp. I made it with Saffron rice and it went well with it. I will be making this one again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mignon's Filet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Tasty, fast, and easy recipe which I served over bow tie pasta with grated parmesan cheese and roasted vegetables. Trying to be healthy, I cut the olive oil to 1/8 cup which likely increased the heat factor a wee bit. Next time I will try this recipe with the specified amount of olive oil and maybe increase the dry sherry a little bit too. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Nice recipe for good quality shrimp and garlic lovers will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
We really wish we hadn't wasted shrimp and scallops in this recipe :( We enjoy spicy, but the heat of the red pepper flakes was all you could sense, and that's with using a scant teaspoon! Unfortunately, we couldn't taste the garlic, the dry sherry, the seafood, or anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Amazing! I used the sherry, and I thought this recipe was perfect. I am a mildly spicy person, and it was not too hot at all to me; just the right amount of zing. The sauce was so good, I kept licking it off the spatula from the pan afterwards. My husband loved it too, he said it tasted like restaurant food. Lol! This is going to be one of our regular meals now. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Queen of Random Dinners here! :) this was super quick to throw together for the protein component of our dinner tonight. My boyfriend picked up (a little too much) corn on the cob for me from a local farmers market, so I made some of that and was looking for things we had on hand that I could make up to go with it. This fit the bill! No measureing, just looked over the ingredients and went with it. I have a great smoked spanish paprika that I love to use and it really shined in this recipe. I opted for lemon juice, simply because I keep forgetting to grab some sherry... lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States