Sizzling Sherry Shrimp with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by c-biskit
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
A terrific tapas. Quick, easy, delicious, using only a few ingredients that work beautifully together. Drank a Spanish white wine from the Basque region, Xarmant Txakoli. It's a fresh, bright, lowish alcohol white that's slightly effervescent. A great complement for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Phenomenal!! Quick and easy, loved it! I used smoked paprika instead (love it!!), but otherwise, did not change a thing! Excellent...would be great served over rice or pasta, although I served it alone. Anyway you slice it, scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is a beautiful dish, and I enjoyed the paprika even more than I thought I would. The recipe doesn't specify, but I used what I thought was an appropriate, fragant smoked Spanish paprika which was really, really good. I used the amount called for even tho' I thought it might be too much for me, but it was just a lovely, delicate smoky flavor that also lent color to the dish. Same with the chili pepper flakes - I thought I'd be sorry using the amount called for and nearly chickened out. Glad I didn't - that, too, was just right. I prepared this with one alteration, which was simply to wait until the shrimp was nearly cooked to add the garlic, since garlic and high heat don't mix and burnt garlic is just plain nasty. In deference to the title I chose dry sherry rather than lemon, and because I welcomed the opportunity to do something other than lemon for a change. I served this alongside a tossed green salad which made for a lovely, fresh, light but deliciously satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed these, but boy were they spicy! I think next time, I will decrease the red pepper just a bit. I used the sherry in mine, but really didn't taste it. (Though, I think my mouth was just on fire too much to taste anything). I had them left over the next day, and I tasted the sherry then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. My husband made this for me for my birthday and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I added a pinch more of the red pepper flakes and I used hot smoked paprika instead of regular paprika. I love spicy things and with the hot paprika it was perfect! I paired this dish with Ballet of Angels which is a sweet dry wine and found it was the perfect combination of Spicy Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is wonderful recipe and extremely easy! My husband and I have been looking a shrimp with garlic recipe and have not had any luck in finding one that we enjoy. This one was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very good. Spicy! Used 5 cloves garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I reduced the amount of red pepper flakes and used sherry. Great simple and fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elfie789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
LOVED LOVED LOVED!! I used 1 lb of shrimp and also added 1lb. of bay scallops. I doubled the olive oil and added a tbsp of butter, but put the paprika and crushed red pepper as if it were a single recipe. Glad I did because it was still spicy! I served over penne and it was a huge hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States