Sizzling Sherry Shrimp with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this with scallops. It was okay, but nothing special. The taste of the sherry didn't really come through, nor that of the garlic. The red pepper flakes seemed to steal the show, and not in a good way. Surprised that this recipe is supposedly from Spain (where I lived for more than a decade) as it was quite spicy (and I know how most Spaniards feel about the "p" word (ie. picante).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Really easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Delicious! Used Marsala instead of sherry. Excellent accompaniment to our Pasta Pomodoro dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Phenomenal!! Quick and easy, loved it! I used smoked paprika instead (love it!!), but otherwise, did not change a thing! Excellent...would be great served over rice or pasta, although I served it alone. Anyway you slice it, scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed these, but boy were they spicy! I think next time, I will decrease the red pepper just a bit. I used the sherry in mine, but really didn't taste it. (Though, I think my mouth was just on fire too much to taste anything). I had them left over the next day, and I tasted the sherry then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
LOVED LOVED LOVED!! I used 1 lb of shrimp and also added 1lb. of bay scallops. I doubled the olive oil and added a tbsp of butter, but put the paprika and crushed red pepper as if it were a single recipe. Glad I did because it was still spicy! I served over penne and it was a huge hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is a beautiful dish, and I enjoyed the paprika even more than I thought I would. The recipe doesn't specify, but I used what I thought was an appropriate, fragant smoked Spanish paprika which was really, really good. I used the amount called for even tho' I thought it might be too much for me, but it was just a lovely, delicate smoky flavor that also lent color to the dish. Same with the chili pepper flakes - I thought I'd be sorry using the amount called for and nearly chickened out. Glad I didn't - that, too, was just right. I prepared this with one alteration, which was simply to wait until the shrimp was nearly cooked to add the garlic, since garlic and high heat don't mix and burnt garlic is just plain nasty. In deference to the title I chose dry sherry rather than lemon, and because I welcomed the opportunity to do something other than lemon for a change. I served this alongside a tossed green salad which made for a lovely, fresh, light but deliciously satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I reduced the amount of red pepper flakes and used sherry. Great simple and fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elfie789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is extremely easy to make and I love the spicy kick of the dish. The oily sauce is great with warm crusty bread. I chose sherry instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justine_elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious! It was nice to change up my usual garlic and lime shrimp. I didn't have any sherry, so looked up a substitute and used vanilla extract. I am interested to try it will sherry and see how it differs. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States