Sizzling Sherry Shrimp with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is a beautiful dish, and I enjoyed the paprika even more than I thought I would. The recipe doesn't specify, but I used what I thought was an appropriate, fragant smoked Spanish paprika which was really, really good. I used the amount called for even tho' I thought it might be too much for me, but it was just a lovely, delicate smoky flavor that also lent color to the dish. Same with the chili pepper flakes - I thought I'd be sorry using the amount called for and nearly chickened out. Glad I didn't - that, too, was just right. I prepared this with one alteration, which was simply to wait until the shrimp was nearly cooked to add the garlic, since garlic and high heat don't mix and burnt garlic is just plain nasty. In deference to the title I chose dry sherry rather than lemon, and because I welcomed the opportunity to do something other than lemon for a change. I served this alongside a tossed green salad which made for a lovely, fresh, light but deliciously satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by c-biskit
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
A terrific tapas. Quick, easy, delicious, using only a few ingredients that work beautifully together. Drank a Spanish white wine from the Basque region, Xarmant Txakoli. It's a fresh, bright, lowish alcohol white that's slightly effervescent. A great complement for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I served it with brown rice and roasted brussels sprouts (recipe is on this site). It didn't need as much oil as stated and I wish I had used less. I added two extra cloves of garlic and will add more red pepper the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Delicious! Used Marsala instead of sherry. Excellent accompaniment to our Pasta Pomodoro dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Queen of Random Dinners here! :) this was super quick to throw together for the protein component of our dinner tonight. My boyfriend picked up (a little too much) corn on the cob for me from a local farmers market, so I made some of that and was looking for things we had on hand that I could make up to go with it. This fit the bill! No measureing, just looked over the ingredients and went with it. I have a great smoked spanish paprika that I love to use and it really shined in this recipe. I opted for lemon juice, simply because I keep forgetting to grab some sherry... lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Phenomenal!! Quick and easy, loved it! I used smoked paprika instead (love it!!), but otherwise, did not change a thing! Excellent...would be great served over rice or pasta, although I served it alone. Anyway you slice it, scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed these, but boy were they spicy! I think next time, I will decrease the red pepper just a bit. I used the sherry in mine, but really didn't taste it. (Though, I think my mouth was just on fire too much to taste anything). I had them left over the next day, and I tasted the sherry then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was pretty good and very easy, but it just needed... something. I served it over basmati rice. I might try it as a marinade (or with sherry instead of lemon juice) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
We really wish we hadn't wasted shrimp and scallops in this recipe :( We enjoy spicy, but the heat of the red pepper flakes was all you could sense, and that's with using a scant teaspoon! Unfortunately, we couldn't taste the garlic, the dry sherry, the seafood, or anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This dish turned out just ok. I used lemon juice instead of sherry and the lemon overpowered the other flavors of the dish. Like another reviewer suggested, I will wait to put the garlic in until the shrimp are almost cooked because the garlic burned which likely changed the overall flavor of the dish. I steamed some frozen broccoli in the microwave and mixed it in when the shrimp were just about cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States