Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
First off, do NOT try to cream the fat & sugar with the buttermilk. What a mess! Cream the fat & sugar. Then mix in the egg(s) and THEN stir in the buttermilk. Also, this never says what size of muffin tin is a 'serving' which completely changes your baking time. That being said....I really love the taste of these muffins! I think for anyone who said they were bland, I think it's because of the type of cereal they used. I substituted the shortening with 1/2 applesauce & 1/2 butter. I used raisin bran cereal and threw in a tablespoon of vanilla extract with the buttermilk (which really was 1 Tablespoon lemon juice to 1 cup of skim milk because I didn't have buttermilk). Half wheat flour, half all purpose. I changed this to 36 servings (which really turned out to be 24 on a regular sized muffin tin). I baked them for 18 minutes. They turned out perfect. Thankfully the next time I won't follow the directions blindly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Wonderful!!! I did add Molasses the first time I made them. The second time I added honey and vanilla ( ran out of molasses). Even those at work who say they do not like bran muffins, LOVE this recipe. Extremely easy to make, and versatile. You can add just about any dried fruit to it and they come out even better!!!! We have tried raisins, cranberries, and even dried mango and apricots... Yumm mm Yummmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I've been trying literally dozens of bran muffin recipes lately trying to find a favorite and so far this is it. I skipped the whole step involving breaking up the bran cereal into two parts and just crushed up all of it at once into the boiling water. I also scaled this down to 12 servings and made giant "texas muffins". YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My mom made these for us as kids. I now make them for my kids. My absolute favorite thing to do with this is something we did as kids. My mom always had a big bowl of it in the fridge. we took a big glump of it and put it in the microwave. cook it until it's not shiney. Pour a little milk over the top of it and you have a quick super yummy hot healthy breakfast. These are very versatile muffins. I like to get creative with different kinds of grain cereal. The first 6 cup should be something like All bran the other 12 can be anything from shredded wheat to granola. Granola is really yummy. I've added all kinds of dried fruits. I like to have a batch in my fridge around the holidays. It's super easy to make up a dozen to give to friends and family as gifts. It's the perfect quick fix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
Recipe is very tasty! I got a lot of compliments. You don't need to use those paper liners the muffins tip right out of the muffins tins. I baked all the muffins at one time since I've got a chest freezer to store them. Next time I make this recipe I'm going to cut it in half as I do not have a bowl large enough to hold the entire recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
We really like these for using up stale bran cereal. I've tried different kinds and they all seem to work! I down size to 1/6th and it makes 24 muffins perfectly. I also don't use the liners as they are really unnecessary. I like to add different things to the tops of them before they bake, they bake up very well this way... sometimes I add chopped walnuts, sometimes dried cranberries or raisins, always add a little bit of raw sugar to give it a finished crunch/bakery style top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe brings back some fond memories of my daughter when she was little. I always had this batter in the fridge and I popped six of these in the oven moments before she and her friends were due home from school. She arrived home everyday to the smell of these baking, and as soon as she changed her clothes she and her buddies each munched on a hot muffin with a tall glass of cold milk. To this day whenever we run into any of her friends from the old neighborhood, they remind me of the great smells and flavors from our house after school. Now I take this batter to work once a week and bake them in the kitchen mid day to share - there is never a crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Franz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
SO GOOD. I have never liked bran muffins before, but this recipe is a keeper for SURE. I usually scale it down to 18, and it makes 12 medium-small muffins. I bake for a smidge over 19 minutes, and they turn out perfect. I like to add craisins and pecans too, so these treats end up tasting great and only have about 160/170 calories a muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraLady19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
For those of you who are wheat intolerant, I used Heritage Flakes by Nature's Path and they turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
This recipe in one of my favorites. I have shared it with many friends and always get great responses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States