Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe brings back some fond memories of my daughter when she was little. I always had this batter in the fridge and I popped six of these in the oven moments before she and her friends were due home from school. She arrived home everyday to the smell of these baking, and as soon as she changed her clothes she and her buddies each munched on a hot muffin with a tall glass of cold milk. To this day whenever we run into any of her friends from the old neighborhood, they remind me of the great smells and flavors from our house after school. Now I take this batter to work once a week and bake them in the kitchen mid day to share - there is never a crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Franz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Don't use muffin cups. Definitely a tasty bran muffin, but I prefer the healthier "Classic Bran" muffin recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Delicious. I was looking for quick last minute addition to our breakfast. My husband loved them! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby Cantero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I have been using this recipe for many years. Makes it so easy to have something healthy in the morning in a hurry. So much better for you than a donut or huge bakery muffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My husband eats these. That says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
OK I just made a half batch of these. Flavor is much better after waiting a few days to bake any. Also fooled my 4 children into eating healthier muffins by adding different things to the batter just before baking.(as they cringed at BRAN muffins)In a bowl with enough to make 12 mini muffins I shredded a little apple and added cinnamon chips. Then about 3Tbs. peanut butter and chocolate chips. Next one I added cocoa powder and a little extra sugar. Can't wait to experiment more. Wonderful muffin as is or to add extras to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
My grandma used to make this recipe and it is OH SO GOOD! Muffins turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Celeste, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I sized this recipe down to about 50 muffins. I can't beleive they can sit in the fridge for 6 weeks, that just sounds gross since they have milk and eggs in them...wouldn't they go bad? Anyway, I made a smaller batch and the kids are just chowing them down. I made some plain, some with chocolate chips (my 3 year old won't touch it if it doesn't have chocolate chips in it ;)), some cranberry ones and some apple cinnamon ones. They will make the perfect healthy breakfast for this busy family and great snacks at school for my son. Thanks for the great recipe! Oh, they were baked in 11 minutes not 20!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Niezgocki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My mom made these for us as kids. I now make them for my kids. My absolute favorite thing to do with this is something we did as kids. My mom always had a big bowl of it in the fridge. we took a big glump of it and put it in the microwave. cook it until it's not shiney. Pour a little milk over the top of it and you have a quick super yummy hot healthy breakfast. These are very versatile muffins. I like to get creative with different kinds of grain cereal. The first 6 cup should be something like All bran the other 12 can be anything from shredded wheat to granola. Granola is really yummy. I've added all kinds of dried fruits. I like to have a batch in my fridge around the holidays. It's super easy to make up a dozen to give to friends and family as gifts. It's the perfect quick fix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
We really like these for using up stale bran cereal. I've tried different kinds and they all seem to work! I down size to 1/6th and it makes 24 muffins perfectly. I also don't use the liners as they are really unnecessary. I like to add different things to the tops of them before they bake, they bake up very well this way... sometimes I add chopped walnuts, sometimes dried cranberries or raisins, always add a little bit of raw sugar to give it a finished crunch/bakery style top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States