Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is really a great and easily adaptable recipe. I scaled it down, changed applesauce for shortening. I also do different add-ins for different batches. It's perfect for kids to bake too. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Another satisfied customer! These are GREAT. Breakfast was getting pretty boring around here, so this is something fresh. My husband was skeptical at first, but after eating them...was convinced. I did lower the oven temp a bit and reduce the backing time. Other than that, I left it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
OK, First let me say that I cut this recipe by 6 to get the desired 24 muffins. I also added 1 cup of raisins to the boiling water, and added 1 teaspoon of baking powder in addition to the baking soda. They were amazingly good! I thought my kids would turn up their noses...instead, they devoured them and asked for more! These are the most moist and best tasting bran muffins I've ever made. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was my first time making bran muffins and they turned out great! I used Fiber One cereal and ran it all through the food processor before adding the water. I also added cinnamon and raisins. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Have made this recipe for years (in smaller quantities) and it's the only bran muffin recipe that really tastes like a treat. I always add vanilla and use Bran Flakes for the smaller quantity of bran cereal and All Bran for the larger one. Sometimes throw a streusel topping on for fun. Simply delicious...people can't believe it's a bran muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Very good, was better with various add-ins: Chocolate Chips or Blueberries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Just as awesome as mom used to make when I was a kid....But, next time i'll half it. I didn't have a bowl big enough to mix this in and ended up mixing in 5 smaller bowls and combining ingredients at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Excellent. I added orange zest, and substituted orange juice for the water. Also, I substituted applesauce for the oil. Added dried cranberries. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe brings back some fond memories of my daughter when she was little. I always had this batter in the fridge and I popped six of these in the oven moments before she and her friends were due home from school. She arrived home everyday to the smell of these baking, and as soon as she changed her clothes she and her buddies each munched on a hot muffin with a tall glass of cold milk. To this day whenever we run into any of her friends from the old neighborhood, they remind me of the great smells and flavors from our house after school. Now I take this batter to work once a week and bake them in the kitchen mid day to share - there is never a crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Franz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Don't use muffin cups. Definitely a tasty bran muffin, but I prefer the healthier "Classic Bran" muffin recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States