Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I love this recipe. I was buying bran muffins and it was costing me a fortune. I tried this recipe and they are great! I did cut the recipe in half.I bake 12 at a time storing the rest of the batter in the refrigerator and making fresh muffins every three days until the batter is gone. I used Post Raisin Bran and added extra raisins.I also substitued the buttermilk with sour milk to save some money.My sour milk for this recipe was 1 1/2 TBS of lemon juice stirred into every 2cups of milk.The very first batch I cooked came out just ok-I really don't know why. I was going to throw out the rest of the batter but that would have been a waste so I baked another 12 from the same batter.They were GREAT!! I have used this recipe several times and it continues to please :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Southern Lady Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Delicious...This was my first attempt with Bran Muffins. Bran sounds so "healthy". Well these may not be healthy, but they were great. I scaled the recipe down to 36 muffins. I made six this morning for Sunday breakfast. I plan to make the remainder throughout the next week or so. Probably won't keep the batter around for more than a two weeks. Anything longer than that, doesn't sound too appetizing. Anyway, one other modifications that were made: used Raisin Bran cereal, added about a teaspoon and a half of cinnamon, used half butter/half shortening combination and added a cinnamon, brown sugar and pecan pieces topping. I know I'll make these again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is really a great and easily adaptable recipe. I scaled it down, changed applesauce for shortening. I also do different add-ins for different batches. It's perfect for kids to bake too. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Another satisfied customer! These are GREAT. Breakfast was getting pretty boring around here, so this is something fresh. My husband was skeptical at first, but after eating them...was convinced. I did lower the oven temp a bit and reduce the backing time. Other than that, I left it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
OK, First let me say that I cut this recipe by 6 to get the desired 24 muffins. I also added 1 cup of raisins to the boiling water, and added 1 teaspoon of baking powder in addition to the baking soda. They were amazingly good! I thought my kids would turn up their noses...instead, they devoured them and asked for more! These are the most moist and best tasting bran muffins I've ever made. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was my first time making bran muffins and they turned out great! I used Fiber One cereal and ran it all through the food processor before adding the water. I also added cinnamon and raisins. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Have made this recipe for years (in smaller quantities) and it's the only bran muffin recipe that really tastes like a treat. I always add vanilla and use Bran Flakes for the smaller quantity of bran cereal and All Bran for the larger one. Sometimes throw a streusel topping on for fun. Simply delicious...people can't believe it's a bran muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Very good, was better with various add-ins: Chocolate Chips or Blueberries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Just as awesome as mom used to make when I was a kid....But, next time i'll half it. I didn't have a bowl big enough to mix this in and ended up mixing in 5 smaller bowls and combining ingredients at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Anderson Kuhn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Excellent. I added orange zest, and substituted orange juice for the water. Also, I substituted applesauce for the oil. Added dried cranberries. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States