Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Excellent recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Converted recipe to 1/4 size: 1 ½ c boiling water 1 ½ c whole bran cereal ¾ c shortening 2 ¼ c sugar 3 eggs 3 c buttermilk 3 ¾ c flour ¾ tsp salt 3 c whole bran cereal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is the greatest recipe. I made a batch big enough to fill my largest ceramic bowl, and used enough each morning to make a small batch of muffins. I added raisins, apples, dried cranberries, you name it! The recipe is so versatile and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I modified the recipe for fewer calories (and Weight Watchers points) and it's still great. Everyone in the family has at least one a day. My 2-year-old can't get enough of them. The only drawback is that, even though I halve the recipe it still makes such a huge amount that I have to pour the batter back and forth between my Kitchen Aid mixer and another big bowl. It's always a huge mess, but then again it makes so many that we can freeze and eat for a long time. Modifications: 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 margarine for shortening; 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 sugar; 1/2 egg whites and 1/2 whole eggs; skim milk (usually powdered); 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Absolutely delish and EXACTLY what I was looking for. I scaled the recipe for 36 muffins. Used organic turbinado sugar for all the white sugar and used half whole wheat flour and half all-purp flour to make it a little healthier, but blew it by using butter for my shortening! Used a combo of Total raisin bran and All-Bran for my cereal and threw in a handful of craisins (cherry flavor) and a tsp of good vanilla. Sprinkled more raw sugar on top for crunch. These went over BIG BIG BIG with my family. Better after they've cooled than when they're hot, we think. Very moist and very tasty! I can see this being a daily thing for us - we all loved them - and how handy that I have a big container of batter in my fridge that will keep for a couple of weeks, but I know it won't last that long! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
The best. So moist and perfectly sweetened. I substituted most of the white sugar with Turbinado (raw) sugar and yogurt for the buttermilk. I also added all of the bran cereal to the water rather than doing what the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
My husband really like this, I made them all some with frozen blueberries and raspberries, some plain and with cinnamon raisin. I put them in the deep freeze and would take acouple out every morning for lunches. I would have like something with more bran, this is a perfect recipe for people who don't like bran that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Instead of the 1 cup of sugar, I used 1/2 cup of Splenda brown sugar to cut down the calories. It tastes just as good. I also added 1tsp vanilla extract when creaming the eggs, buttermilk and sugar. Great recipe, tastes just like the muffins from Starbucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good, especially when baked after the batter has chilled for a while. Delicious with a little butter and orange marmalade. I quartered the recipe and cut the sugar to 2 cups to suit my family, and faked the buttermilk with milk/vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great recipe! Next time I will try it with whole wheat flour to make it a little less cakey, but this recipe is awesome just as too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelixHelps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States