Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I had a very similar recipe that I couldn't find, so was glad to find this one. It is very similar, but the directions are a little different. I soaked all of the bran flakes in the hot water, and replaced the shortening with cinnamon applesauce. I tried to cut the sugar a little, but the batter didn't taste right, and was thin, so I added the rest of the sugar back in before baking. I also used rasin bran cereal, and also added another handful of dried mixed fruits (cranberries, golden raisins, and currants). I have always loved these muffins, and so did my kids. These are great warm with butter, but my kids even loved them cold as an after school snack. They said they are as good as any cup cake! Put this one in your recipe box and use it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My mother made these for as long as I can remember but she added dried fruit - dates, raisins, currants, dried apricots, whatever you like. Dates were especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Yummy in my tummy and good for your, too! Makes for a quick and easy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne Dickey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Amazizing-"kyle"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Loved them. I did substitute the shortening with the butter/applesauce combo. I also added dried fruit. Delicious! Changed measurements to 36 "US" instead of the 216 listed. It looks like it'll make about 36 medium size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I wasn't quite sure what was meant by "whole bran cereal," so I used Trader Joe's "High Fiber Cereal" which looks like twigs. Maybe this is why the muffins turned out rather dense. I had to fill the muffin cups almost full before baking because they just don't puff up very much. They taste great, but they just don't look all that impressive. I also cut the recipe to 1/3 and the large mixing bowl I used was BARELY able to contain all the batter. I expect to get about 60 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This probably is good as is but.... I had to 'tweak' it for health as well as personal taste. Thanks to all the other reviewers warning about issues and offering suggestions. I made the following changes: 1 c sucralose & 1 c honey for sugar, lowfat vanilla yogurt for buttermilk, butter and applesauce, 1/2 flour was all purpose, the rest was half KA white wheat and regular whole wheat. I used All Bran Buds and the second part of bran cereal was half quick rolled oats. I added 1 tablespoon molasses because I love the flavor and would have used brown sugar but for cutting some calories with the sucralose. Also included 1 tablespoon each vanilla and cinnamon. I scaled it back to 54 servings and it fit comfortably in my Kitchenaid 6 qt mixer. When baking the first batch this morning, I folded in raisins and used a #16 scoop. They were done in 17 minutes probably because I use a silicone muffin pan. They turned out moist and flavorful. Everyone in our 4 generation house enjoyed them. I am looking forward to experimenting with other add-ins. I will also get some flax seed and wheat germ to boost the nutritional value. My husband and I are trying to lose weight and will use one with a scrambled egg beater for a quick easy breakfast (our biggest meal of the day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I did as Diyeana suggested and scaled this to 36 servings which made 24 regular-sized muffins exactly as she said it would. I scaled back on the sugar and used butter instead of shortening. Will try using coconut oil and some fruit puree next time. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Good recipe. I've never tried "Bran Muffins" until now, so it's a little hard for me to gauge. My husband and I liked them very much. I'll use this recipe again. Thank's for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great recipe for me, I'm a habitual cereal waster. Mine baked fast less than 20 min, could be a smaller pan? Next batch I'll try a lower temp and a bit less time and go from there. 400 deg and 15 min worked perfect. I scale the recipe down to 36. I've tried replacing all the shortening with the applesauce and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States