Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by cnystel
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I received this recipe, along w/ a bowl of mix and a few cooked muffins to give me any idea of what they tasted like. I made it for the first time myself. I didn't have a large enough bowl - but didn't know that until it came time to combine the dry and wet ingredients. I ended up using the pan from my roaster oven! Because it made so much, I bagged up the mix in gallon sized ziploc bags, cooked several muffins and distributed them around my neighborhood along with the recipe. I add nuts, craisins and chopped/peeled apples to the batch I intend to cook - at the time I am going to cook them. I also use mini-muffin pans. They are done in 11-12 minutes - depending on if you like a soft outer edge or a crispier, browner crust. I found by using a small cookie/ice-cream scoop, I get a perfect measurement in the mini-muffin pan - and they rise beautifully. My husband and my great nephew loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnystel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My mom made these for me when I was little and now I am enjoying making these for my family too. This is my go to bran muffin recipe, but except we stir in the buttermilk with the bran cereal after adding the flour. So good and it easily halves or quarters for smaller batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. My Mom made these when I was a kid and I was so happy to find it on here. I make them using butter instead of shortening, and 2% milk because I can't tell the difference if buttermilk is used. It's so nice to have the batter on hand and ready for use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
My family can't get enough of this. I always have the batter on hand. It is excellent plain or with add ins. My favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
AWESOME!!!!!!! I made 1/2 recipe, and AFTER the first dozen it fit in a gallon pitcher. I omitted the shortening, and used 1 can applejuice concentrate and 1 cup sugar instead of the 4.5 cups sugar in the 108 serving version. I used 6 cups wheat bran and 3 cups oat bran and whole wheat flour. this is something I can feel good about the kids eating no matter how many they grab! I made a second dozen, and stirred a handful of blueberries into each cup. Very nice. I think I have found my new favorite muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I use a recipe very similar to this one. Mine calls for oil in place of shortening. I bake them in small batches as needed and add those over ripe banana we all put in the freezer for loafs. Just mash them and add to what ever size batch you are baking that day, yummy. Have also added apple sauce, both make very moist muffins. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I love this recipe. I have been looking for a good bran muffin recipe and I just found it. I cut this recipe in half and only baked them for 18 mins. They came out purfect. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Love this recipe. I add a couple shredded apples and raisins when I have them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juhani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a great gift for anyone who is on pain killers for arthritis or has had surgery. Those pain killers stop you up and this is the perfect remedy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These muffins are just what I was looking for. In need of a snack for breakfast or anytime? This will fit the bill. These muffins are very moist. I even made mine with 1/2 whole wheat flour. I cut down on the fat by using half applesauce and half butter. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Scaled recipe down to 36 servings and now I am sure that I should have at least doubled it. I don't see these lasting around my house too long. I also used the fake buttermilk trick of 1 tbs of lemon juice to 1 cup of milk. You can add anything to these muffins and it will only be better. My first batch had cherry flavored craisins and a few white chocolate chips, topped with a sprinkle of raw sugar. The next batch will have chopped candied pineapple. The combinations are endless! Just use your imagination. Thanks Dee for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States