Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
To quote my husband; "Heavenly!". I added chopped granny smith apples and a touch of vanilla. Even the kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
We really enjoyed these muffins! I made some adjustments: I used veg. oil instead of shortening, 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, added 1 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla extract, used an extra 1/2 cup cereal, and substituted 1/2 cup wheat bran for some of the flour. These muffins were very moist and not too sweet. Next time I will add dried apples and walnuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
These are the muffins I remember as a kid and now I'm making them for my family. But we add chocolate chips. Healthy? No. Tasty? VERY!!! I have to keep any extra muffins frozen or they'll disappear too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I have made these multiple times. They are moist and not too sweet. They're great for breakfast on a busy morning. I usually make the batter and let it sit for a day before baking. It seems the longer the batter sits, the better the muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My mom used to make these when I was a kid so I came to the site searching for this exact recipe. They are excellent muffins and just how I remembered them! I do add a little extra buttermilk after the batter has been sitting in the fridge awhile or I find they get a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I've been trying literally dozens of bran muffin recipes lately trying to find a favorite and so far this is it. I skipped the whole step involving breaking up the bran cereal into two parts and just crushed up all of it at once into the boiling water. I also scaled this down to 12 servings and made giant "texas muffins". YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Wonderful!!! I did add Molasses the first time I made them. The second time I added honey and vanilla ( ran out of molasses). Even those at work who say they do not like bran muffins, LOVE this recipe. Extremely easy to make, and versatile. You can add just about any dried fruit to it and they come out even better!!!! We have tried raisins, cranberries, and even dried mango and apricots... Yumm mm Yummmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
When makeing this adjusted for 36 muffins, I exchanged oil (canola) for the shortening and used only 1 cup sugar. It was sweet enough for me and the oil is a better choice. No trans fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
For those of you who are wheat intolerant, I used Heritage Flakes by Nature's Path and they turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States