Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I really liked these. They were really hearty which is why I like them. My boyfriend and roommate loved them too. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 bran flour. Makes them hearty and better for you. I did some plain, with raisins, and apple cin. all were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I never thought I could love a BRAN muffin...boy was I wrong!!!! This recipe is awesome. When I made my first batch, I thought "I can put berries in it to make them more flavorful or moist." But after tasting them, I have never needed or wanted to change the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
SO GOOD. I have never liked bran muffins before, but this recipe is a keeper for SURE. I usually scale it down to 18, and it makes 12 medium-small muffins. I bake for a smidge over 19 minutes, and they turn out perfect. I like to add craisins and pecans too, so these treats end up tasting great and only have about 160/170 calories a muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraLady19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made 1/2 of this recipe and have enough batter to feed this family of 4 for the year! But I will share a jar of batter with the neighbors and family....Good deed done, and good muffins too. I think I may have goofed using bran flakes?? But Raisin Bran was on sale and it came out just fine. More like a cupcake than a heavy muffin. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
There many variations on this recipe, this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Best bran muffin recipe ever. I scale the recipe down to 72 servings, use whole wheat flour and add 1 pound/500g block of pitted dates. I just chop the dates and simmer them in water until they soften into a paste, drain excess water and add them to the butter mixture when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
My Mom (and I) have been making this recipe since I was a kid. We've also been known to use bran cereals such as those bran square ring things. They all work just fine. It's not like a bran muffin-it's like a treat! I love it with a little bit of butter. SO very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This is the EXACT recipe my grandma used to make when I was a child with one exception - she used raisin bran instead of just regular bran (and she would only make a third of this recipe at a time). This is an awsome recipe - anyone who enjoys muffins is sure to enjoy this recipe. Great to see this on this site - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I'm very impressed! They were quick to mix up and quick to bake. I used fiber one cereal (ground slightly in food processor) added vanilla, cinnamon and diced apple also, which was quite good, but I plan to try other fruit add ins too! One recommendation - When creaming the sugar/shortening mix; cream the mixture before you add the buttermilk. I wasn't thinking and went ahead and added the buttermilk at the same time. The cold buttermilk will make the shortening separate. Excellent healthy breakfast option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
To quote my husband; "Heavenly!". I added chopped granny smith apples and a touch of vanilla. Even the kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States