Six Threes Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this exactly as written the first time (well six twos to fit my 2-quart ice cream maker) because I don't believe one should change a recipe and then review the changed version. I was surprised by the texture given that it isn't a custard-based ice cream. Very smooth and creamy. But the flavor is a bit odd. Too much citrus to banana. The second time I made it (again, six twos) I substituted 1 small package frozen raspberries for the bananas (thawed and strained to remove seeds) and used the juice of two large lemons. No orange juice. I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Super easy! Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I went crazy making homemade ice cream a couple months ago… trying different recipes, flavors, combinations, etc. Now that is it time to make more, my husband only wants this recipe. I have to say it really is so refreshing and has a really lovely taste! Christmas or not, we are making this banana flavored ice-cream for sure! Couldn't be simpler. If you are making ice cream for the first time, this is a great recipe to start with! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is fruity and rich and wonderful. I made it exactly according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My Mom passed away in January and I'm making a cookbook from the family recipes. I found a small receipt from a store called Kuhn's dated May 28, 1964 in my Mom's recipe box, and on the back was this exact recipe, written in her writing. The cool thing is, I remember helping her make this (I was banana masher!) I googled it because the receipt didn't say "ice cream" so I wasn't sure what it was. I'm really tickled to find out what it was and be able to make the connection to my memories. This has been such a wonderful project for me and I sure enjoyed this ice cream growing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very tasty and fresh! Boyfriend totally loves this ice cream and insists it tastes like kiwi. I can't say i tastes like kiwi but i has a wonderful fruity flavor. Super easy to make with just knives in the food processor. Once I substituted the banana with fresh sour cherries, a drop of almond extract and added some more cream for a little extra softness - it was a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frida Broström

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was a great recipe. We have an ice cream maker and my husband has used it more then me but I was looking for something different to serve for a barbeque. Boy was it a hit. I used 2 peaches, 4 apricots, 1 banana plus the orange and lemon. Awesome I had read the reviews and one said to refrigerate before making, I made it the night before and churned it the next morning awesome. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Not for me. It was way too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Timmons Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockwell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I may have rated this before, but the longer I have the recipe, the more I like it. This is soooo good with fresh fruit and makes a light summer dessert without heating up my kitchen. It keeps well in the freezer without getting icy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This ended up being a delicious and creamy ice cream. I made it without the bananas so I would have a just citrus ice cream and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States