Six Spice Maple Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This recipe was really good. As others have said, it is very hot. My husband LOVED it. We think it would be very good on wings or on regular chicken breasts. I think I will try to make it milder in the future, just to have a different version. Changes I made: 1. replaced the maple syrup with honey 2. baked uncovered at 350 degrees for 1 hour (added the honey in the last 15 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Very good recipe. I tried it on a full sized chicken rather than the cornish game hens, but used the same seasoning. I would make it again, but perhaps with a little bit less cumin. I felt the cumin overpowered some of the other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
WOW!!!! This recipe is awesome. Tested first on chicken wings. Loved the mixture of flavors and so very moist. This one is a definite keeper. Will try on Cornish Hens next. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ridgeland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This has got to be the most flavor bursting cornish hen recipe I've ever had. It had so much taste to it, and so many different flavors. My husband and I loved this. The syrup kind of glazes the whole hen. This was positively wonderful! I am constantly having to tell my husband to wait a while before we have it again, because he wants to make it every other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
*Way* too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hernando Brownie
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Great Recipe..Hens turned out juicy and flavorful... Nice heat and sweetness..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Tried this recipe last night. Unbelievable! My father is the toughest food connoisseur I have ever known. To see him sit there and literally gulp down these hens was the best compliment I've gotten from him in years! So, I asked him, "Dad, on a scale of 1 to 5, how would you rate this recipe?" and he answered, "A solid 4!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
These were easy, affordable, and delicious! I skipped the maple syrup altogether, and we were very pleased with the outcome. We only ate one hen the first night, and I used the meat from the second hen for "the-spiciest-home-made-chicken-soup-ever" later that week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
good, not a wow though. The spices are very good, but stay on the skin and not the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
My fiance and I absolutely hated this recipe. I think that it definitely needs sweetness to counteract the spice, but maple syrup was NOT the way to go. It just didn't taste right. Maybe honey would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTR41TWOSTEP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States