Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Definitely good with the suggestions the others have said: cream of chicken soup, chili powder, cumin, garlic/garlic powder, fresh cilantro. Chopping some onions and peppers make it tasty also. If you are using plain diced tomatoes (instead of the ones with them already in it like Rotel), definitely throw in a can of chopped green chilies for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I usually don't rate recipes, not sure why but I wanted to take the time to rate this one. It is wonderful with the addition of 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 tsp of cumin, 1 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder. We currently live in Japan and had family visit from Oregon and was looking for a quick meal after a long day of sight seeing and this was a BIG hit. They asked for the recipe to take back with them to share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made this but I was the only one in the fam that liked it. Doesn't taste any better or worse than the canned Progresso chicken tortilla soup. Don't kid yourselves they both taste like they came from a can but it doesn't bother me. OK recipe, needs a LOT of additional spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! I'm so happy I read the reviews before I made it cause the original recipe did need a little tweaking. Instead of using 2 cans of chicken broth, I used only one can and then a can of Cream of Chicken (along with only half a can of water). Make sure you drain and wash the black beans! The beans will make the soup watery and add an unattractive black color. Also, I would definitely recommend adding cilantro! It gives it that added bit of flavor. You'll also need to add some salt, pepper, cumin, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper (adds a little heat). I also added brown rice because the Mexican restaurant near my house makes it that way. Cook the rice a little more than halfway then add to the soup. The rice soaks up the broth and flavors nicely and adds good body to the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight. I used canned fiesta corn which I think was a good decision. Added the cream of chicken soup for half the broth and used a rotisserie chicken also spiced it up as others suggested. It was a hit in my house. The recipe as written only gets 3 out of 5 stars from me. I will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Heath, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
We loved this, tasty & quick after working all day, thank u!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I used Alymer's chili style tomatoes , a carton of broth and left over chicken. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My whole family of seven loved this, from my 2 year old to my sixteen and year old, as well as my husband and I! I changed it up a bit after I changed the serving size to 12. I used two can of Basil and Garlic stewed tomatoes and one can of Rotel. Then, added three cans of black beans, instead of two, and used 8 cups of broth, instead of four. Garlic salt, minced onion and some Italian seasoning were also added. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Loved this recipe...so easy!! After reading reviews, I substitued 1 can of chicken broth with one can cream of chicken soup. I also rinsed and drained the black beans before adding. I also added about a clove of minced garlic. It was delicious!! I agree with previous reviewers idea to put ingredients in a basket as a gift..Great for new parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Great for making a meal for someone! Used precooked southwest chicken and subbed a can of chicken broth for cream of chicken. Also added some cumin and other spices people suggested. Great easy slow cooker recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States