Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Wow, i really didn't like this. So bland. Don't use chunk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe has tremendous flavor. I made a few modifications, so it takes more than 5 min prep time. I used 32 oz of organic reduced sodium chicken broth + 1 can organic cream of chicken soup (both are gluten free), didn't drain my canned tomatoes and added 1 small can of diced chile peppers as my canned tomatoes were plain. I seasoned with roasted garlic salt, black pepper, roasted cumin and cayenne to taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The first day I would have given it 4 stars BUT by the 2-3 day, because we were taking it for lunches, the flavours had really melded together. I couldn't find regular broth in cans so I just followed another reviewer and used a tetra pack of chicken broth, a deli roast chicken instead of canned and added the oregano, cumin and chili powder as suggested and through it all in my slow cooker with a bit of lime juice. I've just made my shopping list to get the ingredients to make it again. Thank you Terryn for submitting a wonderful recipe that can be adapted so easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Made this soup tonight with better ingredients and it was delicious!! My husband gave it 5 stars! I used two large boneless chicken breast that I grilled on the stove to charr them. Then threw everything in the crock pot. Also used about a half of a dry package of Fahita seasoning and that really kicked up the flavor. Used one 32oz carton of Swanson chicken broth. Did NOT add cream of chicken soup. Also added half an onion chopped, a crushed garlic clove, a shake or two of cumin, a can of mexi corn, black beans drained and rinsed, some chopped jalapeno and Roltel with lime and cilantro. Cooked 3 hours on high and then shredded the chicken. Just wish I had made a double batch. Sooo good!! Toppings, tortilla chips, sour cream, shredded mexi cheese and avacado slices. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingirl26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Definitely good with the suggestions the others have said: cream of chicken soup, chili powder, cumin, garlic/garlic powder, fresh cilantro. Chopping some onions and peppers make it tasty also. If you are using plain diced tomatoes (instead of the ones with them already in it like Rotel), definitely throw in a can of chopped green chilies for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I usually don't rate recipes, not sure why but I wanted to take the time to rate this one. It is wonderful with the addition of 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 tsp of cumin, 1 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder. We currently live in Japan and had family visit from Oregon and was looking for a quick meal after a long day of sight seeing and this was a BIG hit. They asked for the recipe to take back with them to share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made this but I was the only one in the fam that liked it. Doesn't taste any better or worse than the canned Progresso chicken tortilla soup. Don't kid yourselves they both taste like they came from a can but it doesn't bother me. OK recipe, needs a LOT of additional spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! I'm so happy I read the reviews before I made it cause the original recipe did need a little tweaking. Instead of using 2 cans of chicken broth, I used only one can and then a can of Cream of Chicken (along with only half a can of water). Make sure you drain and wash the black beans! The beans will make the soup watery and add an unattractive black color. Also, I would definitely recommend adding cilantro! It gives it that added bit of flavor. You'll also need to add some salt, pepper, cumin, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper (adds a little heat). I also added brown rice because the Mexican restaurant near my house makes it that way. Cook the rice a little more than halfway then add to the soup. The rice soaks up the broth and flavors nicely and adds good body to the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight. I used canned fiesta corn which I think was a good decision. Added the cream of chicken soup for half the broth and used a rotisserie chicken also spiced it up as others suggested. It was a hit in my house. The recipe as written only gets 3 out of 5 stars from me. I will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Heath, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
We loved this, tasty & quick after working all day, thank u!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States