Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I gave this recipe a 4 star instead of a 5 star due to changing it just a little. I didn't follow this to the 'T'. First I had to add some spice. I added, per my taste, chilli powder and oregano. It kicked it up a bit and gave it the little something I felt was missing. Also, I changed out the 15 ounce of can whole kernel corn to 15 ounces of MexiCorn. I also added some fat free sour cream, tortilla chips and green onions to the top of the soup. After the small changes I can say this soup will be on the table a few times during the month. The cost is very low and everyone in the family LOVED it. Double WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriwalt616

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Very quick (35 min total), delicious. I followed some other reviewers on here and replaced 1 can of broth with 1 can of cream of chicken soup. I also used 2 chicken breast halves cubed and cooked instead of the canned chicken. I added quite a bit of chili powder and cumin and served with avocado chunks with a bit a lemon juice and salt with chips. People were upset. Because there wasn't enough. Will double next time. I did hear it reheated was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I love easy and simple recipes, and that is why this one is great. I did however tweak the recipe by following the review posted by SSCHULTE14. Everything he/she said to add definitely kicked it up a notch! It was delicious! Thanks for sharing SSCHULTE14!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Because I didn't have the diced tomato's and I didn't want to open a 28oz can of beans, I had to make some alterations since I didn't want to go to the store. I also halfed the recipe, sort of. I used a 12oz jar of Mild salsa and only @3/4 cup of chicken broth since I like thick, chunky soups. Tasted good for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakesbyHeidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I added 2 tbsp taco seasoning to this recipe to spice it up a bit. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is a great BASE recipe for chicken tortilla soup!! I did this recipe in my crock pot with a few tweaks. I swapped canned chicken for fresh strips of chicken breast. B/c I didn't want to wait for raw chicken to cook in the crock pot, I cooked the chicken in a frying pan for 2 mins. on each side. Add partially cooked chicken to crock pot with 1 Cup of Chicken Broth and let cook on High for 1.5-2 hours. Shred chicken and add the drained corn, drained & RINSED black beans, diced tomatoes (not drained) & the rest of the can of chicken broth plus the second can from the original recipe. ADDITIONS: I added two cans of 10.5 oz condensed cream of chicken to add thickness. And for flavoring I added garlic powder, salt, pepper, and LOTS of chili powder. Top with a dollop of sour cream if you wish and some left over flour tortillas cut into strips and baked. I also garnished with a bit of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Love how easy and cost effective it is. I could not believe that once it was cooked I could not tell it was canned chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is an excellent recipe!! The only thing I would add is to rinse the black beans. Otherwise the soup will be grey and cloudy. We added some diced avacado and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I thought this tasted okay. It was kind of on the thin side though. I don't care for tomatoes with peppers in them, so I just added a can of plain diced. To flavor it I added about 2 tsp of taco seasoning and a good pinch of garlic powder. I can't imagine the rotel style tomatoes making this much thicker. It would be best with topping, tortilla strips, cheese, avacadoes, etc., to give it more bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States