Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I've tried it and loved it but I did try a few things from other folks who've already made this and it was the bomb dot com the next time I try it I will use a rotisserie chicken in it but all in all this will be recipe I will plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is 4.5 star worthy with the following alterations: sautee your own chicken cutlets in olive oil/garlic/lime juice, dice up and add to the pot with everything else in it. Dash across the top the following: cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, Nature's seasoning. Squeeze a few squirts of lime juice (plastic variety works fine). Serve with shredded cheddar, toritillas, and sliced Haas avocado. Wah-lah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Unbelievably easy and good. I followed the suggestions to use 1 can broth and 2 cans of cream of chicken as well as suggestions for rotisserie chicken, chili powder, garlic powder and pepper. Only original change was I used about 1/2 cup heavy cream - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This basic recipe is awesome!!! I was a little skeptical using chicken in a can so I got the best brand I could find to feel comfortable using it. I did use 2 additional cans of condensed cream of chicken. I accidently bought Busch's red beans for chili but I drained the sauce & used it still & they were far better than black beans! I also used half a bag of a frozen corn/greenbean/carrot melody. For seasoning I used: salt, cumin, ground garlic, Mexican oregano, & chili powder. Oh & I used the tireless with cilantro lime. Garnish with lots of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
The whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa N. Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Excellent with the suggestions from other reviewers. I added cumin, chili powder, cilantro, and chopped garlic. I cut the chicken broth in half and used about a tablespoon of heavy whipping cream b/c I didn't have condensed soup. Also used frozen fire roasted corn instead of canned corn and used chicken tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Want to know what this soup is missing? At the last 5 minutes of warming up this soup, add one corn tortilla broken up into pieces, and continue simmering soup until hot. The corn tortilla will break up and give the soup an AUTHENTIC tortilla soup flavor. All the other ingredients are great (substitute the canned chicken for freshly poached and shredded chicken when you feel like cooking), plus whatever other stuff you like. A good foundation recipe for tortilla soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry_vinigrette

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I've been making this for years. I buy 2 cans of chicken tortilla soup in the Mexican section of the grocery store and proceed to kick it up several notches! I add a can of thoroughly rinsed and drained black beans. Instead of canned, I shred a store-bought rotisserie chicken, using about 1 1/2 cups of the meat, saving the rest for another recipe. Instead of the canned tomatoes w/ chilies, plus approx. 1 tsp of ground cumin and 1 jar of salsa (any 'heat'). This makes the soup pretty thick so I usually add 1-2 cans of chicken broth. Taste and adjust the seasonings. I then serve the soup over roughly broken lime-flavored tortilla chips, lite sour cream & Monterrey Jack - Colby Cheese blend or Mexican Cheese blend. Easy, so wonderfully filling & low in calories (especially if you don't use the tortilla chips). You have to give this a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
like many others I added spices. it's a great base but I added a shredded chicken breast, 1 envelope of taco seasoning mix. this is a great, fast dinner with some tortilla strips, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Great basic recipe that can be easily customized. We add about half a package of taco seasoning to give it just the right amount of kick. Be sure to rinse the canned beans to help cut down the sodium content. We like our soups spicy and hearty, so we use regular "full strength" Rotel. Rotisserie chicken or the John Soules pre-cooked chicken packets make a heartier version. This recipe is so easy -- I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States