Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this according to directions, but opened a can of cream style corn instead of regular. I had already added two cans of broth, so my soup was a bit thin. Next time I may use the creamed corn with just one can of broth. The soup was a bit bland, so I added around a teaspoon each of cumin and chili powder and a little onion and garlic powder. My husband thought it was great and couldn't believe it was from 6 cans! Next time I'll try to use a rotisserie chicken, but the canned was all I had on hand this time. This is a great recipe to pull together from pantry ingredients on short notice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I poach about four chicken thighs skin and debone it and just tear it apart. I use the broth from it instead of canned. I also add a can of white hominy, rinsed and drained. Also a small can of chopped green chili's I work with several Hispanic ladies and they love it when I bring this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamiesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My family loves it! I top it with crushed tortilla chips and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I add another pantry staple to the soup, a pkg. or two of dry ranch dressing mix since I can't do wheat. Makes it creamier and adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I make this recipe every winter. I first started making it from a Jenny-O recipe that used ground turkey (my favorite way. It's fabulous. I don't know why but this combination really tastes like everything was made from scratch. Instead of canned tomatoes, I use a jar of salsa for more depth of flavor. Topped with chips, cheese and avocado. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Loved it! Sounds too easy to be true, has just the right amount of kick. I use leftover rotisserie chicken instead of canned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Add some cumin, chili powder and 1 chili in adobo sauce. A little cilantro at the end. Fabulous..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good soup. We have been making for almost 10 years with a few variations. Switch out 1 can of broth for a can of refried black beans and add a cup of cheese to the soup. Makes a nice thick satisfying soup. Fresh or rotisserie chicken is good and frozen corn is good too. Not a pretty soup but always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I really loved this soup,but the only recommendation I have is that you use a roasted chicken you can pick up at the market. I used low sodium chicken stock and didn't need to add salt. The chicken seasons the soul perfectly. So simple and so delicious. Top with a sprinkling of shredded cheese and some avocado chunks and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by googirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My 7 yo LOVES this soup and requests it regularly. One thing I do change at times is to use frozen corn instead of canned, simply to cut down on salt. When I do use the canned variety, I don't drain it. I also use the larger cans of chicken (13 oz) that I typically can only find at Sam's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States