Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Quick and easy to make! I added onions and peppers too and a can of cream of chicken like other viewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is a good basic recipe to add on to or adjust. I usually use a rotisserie chicken and fresh tomatoes, but stick with the canned black beans, corn, and chilies- Or leave out the chilies completely. I then add more seasonings like a previous reviewer said to do- cumin, chili powder, a little cayenne, salt, pepper, etc. Top it with tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream. It's a simple and quick recipe for week nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This recipe has two great things going for it: it's quick and easy. Based on the suggestions of previous reviewers, I used two cans of cream of chicken soup and one soup can of chicken broth. I also used mexican corn, drained the black beans and used crushed garlic. My husband came home from a long day at work and this soup was on simmer on the stove and he was so happy! He took the little bit we had leftover for lunch. Great, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Granted, as written the soup lacks some things, hence my 4-star rating. This is what I did... rinsed the beans but added the Rotel and the corn including the water from the cans. I also added 1 chicken breast half, 1 TBS of chili powder and 1 tsp of cumin along with 1/2 C of minced onion, 3 cloves of minced garlic (onion and garlic were sautéed before adding, 1 TBS chopped cilantro and 1 tsp of Mexican oregano. After the cooking time of 15 or so minutes I shredded the chicken and returned to the pot. I garnished with tortillas, cheese, and fresh cilantro. Not watery, just good. Also if you desire some creaminess add a dollop of sour cream to your bowl. A 300% improvement for 5 minutes more of prep time... well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Came out OK. I wasn't expecting the tomato/chile can to make it as spicy as it did. My kids wouldn't eat it because of that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Quick,simple, Delicious,and filling! I did take the advice of the reviews and tweaked it a bit. This is what I did: I rinsed the black beans, I used a rotisserie chicken that I got at the market instead of canned chicken (meat in a can just didn't sound yummy to me), one can of chicken broth and two cans of condensed cream of chicken soup (I didn't add water) and I added a bit chili powder and a dash of garlic powder. We topped it off with shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream, and dipped our tortilla chips in it. FABULOUS! especially when you're in a rush, I think it tool a total of 10 minutes! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Absolutely you have to doctor this recipe, but it is an amazing base recipe to make something your own and great. I wanted to try and keep mine as natural as possible so I skipped the cream of soup tips. I was lucky enough to find, at my local grocer, Swanson's Mexican Tortilla flavor infused broth and I think that is what helped my soup the most. I still added lots of fresh garlic because I love garlic, but other then that I kept everything else the same. I added the whole 32oz box of the broth and it wasn't to "soupy" for me. Also I added red pepper flakes and then topped it with plain yogurt and blue tortilla chips to cool it down. This has probably been one of my favorite things I've made and I've tried a lot off of this site. So give it a try, make it your own and enjoy! p.s. I simmered my for about an hour because I had the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Again like others have said its a good base or a quick good soup I know its all canned but its better than the canned version of the same soup. I do agree to make tweaks I used 32 oz of broth, frozen corn, and added garlic and cilantro then a dollop of sour cream and cheese and jalapeno kettle chips. I used great value brand canned chicken the applewood smoked flavor. I agree if I have time in the future to use cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sapulpa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent and Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I gave this recipe a 4 star instead of a 5 star due to changing it just a little. I didn't follow this to the 'T'. First I had to add some spice. I added, per my taste, chilli powder and oregano. It kicked it up a bit and gave it the little something I felt was missing. Also, I changed out the 15 ounce of can whole kernel corn to 15 ounces of MexiCorn. I also added some fat free sour cream, tortilla chips and green onions to the top of the soup. After the small changes I can say this soup will be on the table a few times during the month. The cost is very low and everyone in the family LOVED it. Double WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriwalt616

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States