Sister Schubert's® Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I had never made Sloppy Joe other than the can before I tried this recipe and I can honestly say I will never use the can sauce again! This was delicious and a huge hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe. Tasted much better than the canned version. Cut the recipe in half for a smaller family and it worked just fine. Just spicy and sweet enough for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a quick and good recipe for yummy Sloppy Joe's. I found it to be a little on the sweet side, so next time I would cut the ketchup and add more tomato paste and cut the brown sugar. I used ground turkey and added zucchini, summer squash and some raw pumpkin. It was a huge hit! We even had my daughter's friend over, he loved it and told his mom to get my "secret" recipe for her to make at his house. So generally a winner. I used whole wheat onion rolls too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I was afraid that it would be bland, but made it anyway based off of reviews. I'm glad I did. It was slightly sweet, but tangy as well. I added about five or six drops of hot sauce to give it a little kick. Everyone loved it at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
we really liked this recipe... i added pureed carrots for added nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
LOVE this recipe. I used 2 lbs beef and added a little extra onion and peppers (I also added celery). there was plenty of sauce to spare, so next time I will load it up even more with veggies. very tasty! One tip to make this recipe more lean is to rinse the beef off with water in a colander (after browning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
My fiance and my mom wanted some sloppy joes today, so I made this recipe because of the reviews. They loved it! I personally hate all sloppy joes, so my opinion doesn't count. I reduced the sugar, omitted the oil, and only made 1/3 of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a la Martinique

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is delicious, and we especially like it served in bread bowls. A little sweeter than usual, but that can easily be remedied with less or no brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
My first time making sloppy joes and I will keep this as my go-to recipe. I subbed ground beef for the sirloin and only had apple cidar vinegar so I used that instead of regular vinegar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States