Sister Schubert's® Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I had never made Sloppy Joe other than the can before I tried this recipe and I can honestly say I will never use the can sauce again! This was delicious and a huge hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe. Tasted much better than the canned version. Cut the recipe in half for a smaller family and it worked just fine. Just spicy and sweet enough for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a quick and good recipe for yummy Sloppy Joe's. I found it to be a little on the sweet side, so next time I would cut the ketchup and add more tomato paste and cut the brown sugar. I used ground turkey and added zucchini, summer squash and some raw pumpkin. It was a huge hit! We even had my daughter's friend over, he loved it and told his mom to get my "secret" recipe for her to make at his house. So generally a winner. I used whole wheat onion rolls too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I was afraid that it would be bland, but made it anyway based off of reviews. I'm glad I did. It was slightly sweet, but tangy as well. I added about five or six drops of hot sauce to give it a little kick. Everyone loved it at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
we really liked this recipe... i added pureed carrots for added nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
LOVE this recipe. I used 2 lbs beef and added a little extra onion and peppers (I also added celery). there was plenty of sauce to spare, so next time I will load it up even more with veggies. very tasty! One tip to make this recipe more lean is to rinse the beef off with water in a colander (after browning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
My fiance and my mom wanted some sloppy joes today, so I made this recipe because of the reviews. They loved it! I personally hate all sloppy joes, so my opinion doesn't count. I reduced the sugar, omitted the oil, and only made 1/3 of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a la Martinique

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is delicious, and we especially like it served in bread bowls. A little sweeter than usual, but that can easily be remedied with less or no brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is by far the best sloppy joe recipe I have had. It is so flavorful. My husband and I made a massive batch of it for an event at his work and we had no leftovers, people were going back for more. It is an easy recipe and needs no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Decided to try this and was not disappointed! Omitted the salt and added chopped celery. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States