Sister Schubert's® Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I had never made Sloppy Joe other than the can before I tried this recipe and I can honestly say I will never use the can sauce again! This was delicious and a huge hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
we really liked this recipe... i added pureed carrots for added nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I am so happy that I was able to find this recipe. I loved making sloppy joes when I was younger and then I lost the recipe. Then after that, all the recipes that I would come across would used prepared mustard, which made the joes taste kinda funky. The only thing I did differently was use ground turkey breast instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelBaToast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Too sweet for me but I'll try it again without the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I did not have dry mustard so I left it out. Substituted a mixture of 99% lean ground turkey and deer for the ground sirloin. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Was wonderful...after my own tweaking! As others stated to was to sweet so I cut out the brown sugar, also cut out the vingager but doubled the Worsh. With my additions it's 5 stars for my family =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I halved the recipe. I did leave out the dry mustard but followed everything else and it was great! I will never have to buy canned sloppy joe mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelisa0105

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenly, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I was afraid that it would be bland, but made it anyway based off of reviews. I'm glad I did. It was slightly sweet, but tangy as well. I added about five or six drops of hot sauce to give it a little kick. Everyone loved it at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe. Tasted much better than the canned version. Cut the recipe in half for a smaller family and it worked just fine. Just spicy and sweet enough for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I made this recipe, as calculated for 50 servings, for a work fundraiser and everyone raved about how good it was. I will be adding it to my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States