Sister Schubert's® Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used a can of tomato soup instead of the tomato paste. I also added celery. I don't really know how much this changed the integrity of the recipe. I guess I have always been very leery of tomato paste and avoid it when possible. I suppose I will have to try getting over my tomato paste fear at some point. Perhaps that would have pushed this recipe over the top but from my past experiences, that's difficult to fathom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I only gave this a star because the program makes you click at least 1. Followed the recipe to the letter, I always do the first time around. This was the worst sloppy joe recipe we have ever had, I am sure it is because of the huge amount of dry mustard. I kept looking thinking I had read it wrong, but no 2 Tablespoons! Yikes. I made the others taste it, and got the same reaction. My hubby quickly said to dump it and he drove me to the store and bought more ingredients for good old canned version. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very tasty and waaaayyyy better than the canned stuff. Only change I made was to cut the recipe down to 4 people. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Made this for a work potluck and it was a hit. Good flavor and enough for about 24 smaller dinner roll sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was delicious - my entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Brought this to work for a potluck. It was a hit! Followed the recipe exactly. Nice mix a flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Great taste -- better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is absolutely delicious. No need to buy the expensive Manwich. This is so much more economical and the flavor is outstanding. Love the tang the ketchup and vinegar give it and the brown sugar balances the tanginess beautifully. Just wish I could find the Sister Schubert yeast rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is the BEST sloppy joe recipe out there. My entire family loves it. We have been making it for over 2 years now and it has always turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas Kountry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Would be better if it included more peppers and spices. It's too simple and you'd be better of just buying a can of sloppy joe mix. I added in some Blue Moon beer for extra flavor but it didn't help. Too plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States