Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I combined a few different suggestions from reviewers and this turned out FABULOUSLY!!! I must say that I have only 3 other dishes in my "favorites" folder, so it takes a lot to get there. I'm glad to say I added my 4th after making this! I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and added about 1/4 C of water. I added 1 beef bouillon cube and plenty of bay leaf and thyme. I used cooking sherry as my wine and also added 2 tbsp of brown sugar. I browned the beef with the oil and garlic slightly before adding the other ingredients, set the temperature to medium, covered the skillet, and cooked for about 40 minutes. The sauce cooked down and was thick and delicious. I stirred in about 2 tbsp of butter after removing from heat. I served this over mashed potatoes. THANK YOU for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
424 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Great also in the Crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
We loved this recipe!! I made a few slight modifications, I increased the wine to one cup (I used cabernet) and eliminated the mushrooms completely, as they aren't a favorite around here. Also, I found the sauce to be incredibly runny, so I added a small can of tomato paste to thicken it and it was perfect. I added a splash of olive oil, and I used one cup of Ragu Seven Herb Tomato pasta sauce, and I think the chunks of tomato really added to this recipe! It looked and tasted homemade, and my husband thought I slaved for hours in the kitchen making it! I served it over buttered noodles, as suggested, and with some homemade bread and we drank the remaining cabernet. This was wonderful and we will definitely have this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I've made this a few times now and my family loves it.I've changed the recipe a bit to suite our tastes.I brown the beef, then add just enough beef broth to cover and a tbsp of worchestershire sauce and simmer for 30-45 min.Then add in the garlic, tomato sauce, black pepper and an 8 oz can of mushrooms w/ liquid.I don't cook with alcohol so I leave out the wine.I let it simmer another 30 minutes and the meat comes out tender and the sauce has thickened.I've made this with sirloin and stew meat and haven't had any problems.I serve with mashed potatoes since my hubby and children prefer it that way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I added chopped onion and minced garlic to the beef while cooking. Sauteed fresh baby bella mushrooms instead of canned. No need to add additional liquid. Used 17 oz. can of diced tomatoes and 2 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce, 2 bay leaves, 1 TB thyme and 3 TB beef base and simmered for an hour. Thickened broth right at end and served over noodles. One cup red wine added a unique flavor and wasnt too salty at all. Very delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I wanted a nice dinner after cleaning my carpets all day so I put this together in my slow cooker. I used sirloin tips, and huge chunks of mushroom. (Love them). I also added chopped onions and very generous garlic. Two bay Leaf, and 1 T of brown sugar which was a great tip from previous reviews. I substituted 1/2C Brandy for the wine and used 3/4C beef broth with the tomato sauce, it was awesome. Whenever I cook stews or something similar to this in the slow cooker, too much liquid can be a problem. My secret is adding 1 good Tablespoon of Tapioca about an hour before it's done. Leave the cover off and let it thicken. It does not cloud the sauce and keeps it very smooth. It keeps it more of a sauce than a gravy.You can always put the lid back on to perfect the amount of thickening you want. I served it with Garden Harvest Rice pilaf and salad. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is a 5 star recipe. I used paste to thicken and it worked perfectly. Served with mashed potatoes. This works really well in the crock pot outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Based upon the many excellent reviews and suggestions, I made some significant changes to the recipe. First, I fried lots of fresh mushrooms in butter and set them aside. I used a Papain based meat tenderizer on the steak (I only used 12 pound) before cutting it up. I browned the steak pieces in Canola oil, then added the garlic plus (as some had suggested) finely chopped onions. Because several reviewers had suggested that the sauce was too thin, I did make an oilflour roux, but turned out I did not need it. I used about 20 oz. canned diced tomatoes (again as a result of other reviewers' suggestions) and only about 12 cup wine. I did use a small 6oz. can of tomato paste, but next time, I would only use half, as it had just a bit too strong a tomato flavour. I also added Italian Seasoning and Oregano. The buttered egg noodles are a MUST!!! I served this dish with cooked fresh green beans. It was a great hit, and since I am cooking for only two people, half the dish was left over for another day. The next day, I reheated it, added some water as it was a bit too thick and served it over Uncle Ben's Minute Rice: I cooked the rice according to microwave instructions, except I deleted the salt, and added finely chopped onion, chopped red and green pepper and frozen "petite peas". I think that this was even better than the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Loved this recipe.My husband raved.Will defenitly make it again.The only changes I made were I put some peppered flour in a large plastic container and shook the beefcubes in the closed bowl.I also added 2 cubes of beef bouilon a sauteed onion and a couple of bayleaves.There was not a drop left.Thanks Anita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is one I've made several times now, and we always love it. You can brown the strips and then put it in the crockpot to finish. I've also added more wine, and then added a can of cream of mushroom soup to thicken it slightly. That's great too. You can make more sauce by using tomato puree instead of sauce, and thicken it with some cornstarch too if you need to stretch this recipe further. Awesome and thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States