Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is good as a base recipe. I made a few changes based on other responses. I used fresh mushrooms and sauted them with rough chopped onion and garlic removed. Then browned meat added the veggies back 1 cup of wine and the tomato sauce, bay leaf, and dash of red pepper in a brasing pan covered and cooked in the oven for 1 hour and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynaldo Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very good recipe. I too used tomato paste instead of sauce and fresh mushrooms. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I used stew meat, 1/2 cup burgandy wine, and 1/4 cup sherry, fresh mushrooms (i mean really...canned? ewww) and added 1/4 cup water to replace canned mushroom liquid, as well as 2 tbsp brown sugar, 1 bay leaf, 1 tsp thyme and about 1-2 tsps worstishire sauce (as well as tomato sauce and a little bit of salt) First I browned the meat w/the olive oil and garlic, then I threw it all in the crock pot for almost 4 hours on high. Sauce was DELICIOUS! (but not thick at all, if doing crock pot, don't add water, and maybe throw in some cornstarch or flour) Meat was kind of dry, but I blame the stew meat. Served over mashed potatoes. Nice easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent sauce. Followed the suggestions in the reviews Re: adding thyme and bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Good sauce - the flavor was great. The meat was still a little tough so next time I'll probably put eveything in the crock pot. Good reciepe ... I will use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Not bad, I think I will put it in my slow cooker next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
The sauce in the recipe is soooo good! Yum! The only reason, I gave it 4 stars only because I over cooked the meat. So that's chef's error... I would try this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Really yummy. I followed the recipe with only slight variations..I cut the meat into small pieces/slices instead of cubing it and marinated it for about 4 hours in olive oil & vinegar. I added a little splash of worcestershire sauce and a tiny bit of sugar as it was simmering, and used tomato paste & water instead of the tomato sauce. Oh, and I had accidentally picked up thin-sliced chuck steaks instead of sirloin and it turned out just fine. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Made this for dinner last night. Giving it 4 stars simply because DH really enjoyed it, so I will be making it again. As others have stated, found this a little bland as it was cooking. I added worchestshire sauce, A-1 sauce, and 3 beef bullion cubes. This helped. Used beef broth in place of the wine. I used sirloin steak, but simmered it covered for about half an hour and then uncovered about 20 minutes to allow the sauce to thicken. The meat was very tender. It was a little salty, but I may have put too much on when I was seasoning the meat. I didn't really care for the tomato taste, may cut the tomato sauce in half the next time. Stirred in sauteed onions because we like onions and mushrooms with steak, which, of course, the kiddos picked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is the kind of recipe that I love... meat, mushrooms, red wine, lots of great reviews. So I'm not sure what happened... I followed everything exactly, except using fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Half way into the cooking I tasted the sauce--bland and sour! I read through some reviews and added onion powder, bay leaf, fresh thyme, a beef bouillon cube, and a few Ts of brown sugar. MUCH better. Throw in an extra splash of wine a few minutes before cooking is finished and the it will taste significantly better. The meat however was incredibly tough. Meat that's cooked over a long period of time should be more of a stew meat (lots of connective tissues and such)... right? Sirloin is better cooked over grill/pan fried. The sauce (after major alterations) tasted wonderful. The meat? Find a more suitable cut. Kind of disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States