Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Easy to make, but couldn't help but follow the tips of others. I lightly dusted the meat in seasoned flour before browning. I added some finely diced onion as well. I cooked this in the crock pot for about 4.5 hours. I also added an additional 8oz can of tomato sauce. The gravy was a little thin so I made a simply butter based roux and added that to it. Thickened it up quite nicely. This is one that I will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Summers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Amazing! I followed the recipe and also added a few shakes of worchestire sauce, a little brown sugar and sub'd the canned mushrooms for fresh shitake. Full of flavor and the sirloin was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
i used fresh mushrooms, added 1/2 water, beef bullion cube, basil and bay leaves. i will try in crockpot next time. i used a cheap cut of meat and it was a bit tough. flavor was delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Was nervous while it cooked but amazed by the end result. Very tasty!! My company loved it, as did I. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was great! I only changed a few things. I used fresh mushrooms, red cooking wine and added a splash of worcestershire sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This way yummy and easy. I will make it again. I wish i could give it 3.5 stars. It was good but nothing to get all excited about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I am sure the modifications listed by the other reviews are great. However, this is a wonderful, SIMPLE recipe. It is great as is and does not require changing. (that being said, I've had to make substituions ie no wine in house - used vinegar instead - it always turns out great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
oh my god..this is so good..you would never think that tomato sauce and red wine would make a delicious beefy gravy but it does. i used fresh mushrooms...thats the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very good, would have liked more sauce. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe was tasty, it would have been tastier had I not read reviews and made so many changes. I started off with just the ingredients listed in the recipe, and it smelled AWESOME! Then I started putting in things suggested by reviews like "lots of tyme", "Beef bullion", "Brown Sugar", and "wostershire sauce", NO THANKS. What I do think COMPLIMENTS the dish is; onion sauteed with garlic, extra wine, and some butter at the end. Adding too much changes the entire dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States