Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was good. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned (I hate canned mushrooms!). I tasted it while it was simmering and it was a little acidic and also a little bland so ended up adding some onion powder and a bay leaf for flavour and about a tablespoon of brown sugar to cut the acidity. I'll make this again with these additions, but I'll use the slow cooker so the meat be more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I had a dish in mind and this was as close as I could come to finding a recipe for what I was after. I added 1/2 cup chopped red onion with the sirloin. I added 1 cup of beef broth and then also added 1 tsp. thyme. After cooking for about an hour I thickened by mixing in a little water that had about 1-1/2 tsp. cornstartch mixed into it. I prefer to thicken with cornstarch vs. flour beause it mixes in so smoothly. Definitely use fresh mushrooms. We served over mashed potatoes and the kids loved it. Good hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
We followed all of the recommended additions. Our only change above they previously mentioned: we didin't have tomato sauce, so I used a 1/2 can of paste and 1/2 can of diced. I also did add in some flour to thicken. I'll add more flour next time, as it was still thin. This recipe with changes is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Great dish. I added brown sugar, and used fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is a very good easy and simple recipes. You can fix in 30mins or less. I did use fresh sliced mushrooms instead of canned. And made a small portion so the ingredients were less. Although I did use about 1lb of mushrooms since I love mushrooms,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is good, but there was far too much liquid. I suggest only using 1 (8 oz) can of mushrooms w/liquid and no more than 3/4 cup of red wine. There is enough liquid to go over the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is good as a base recipe. I made a few changes based on other responses. I used fresh mushrooms and sauted them with rough chopped onion and garlic removed. Then browned meat added the veggies back 1 cup of wine and the tomato sauce, bay leaf, and dash of red pepper in a brasing pan covered and cooked in the oven for 1 hour and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynaldo Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very good recipe. I too used tomato paste instead of sauce and fresh mushrooms. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I used stew meat, 1/2 cup burgandy wine, and 1/4 cup sherry, fresh mushrooms (i mean really...canned? ewww) and added 1/4 cup water to replace canned mushroom liquid, as well as 2 tbsp brown sugar, 1 bay leaf, 1 tsp thyme and about 1-2 tsps worstishire sauce (as well as tomato sauce and a little bit of salt) First I browned the meat w/the olive oil and garlic, then I threw it all in the crock pot for almost 4 hours on high. Sauce was DELICIOUS! (but not thick at all, if doing crock pot, don't add water, and maybe throw in some cornstarch or flour) Meat was kind of dry, but I blame the stew meat. Served over mashed potatoes. Nice easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent sauce. Followed the suggestions in the reviews Re: adding thyme and bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States