Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I tried this last week and it was excellent. I will do this recipe again and again. It is especially good with buttered noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pntfla013

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was good but not great. Part of it might have been my meat. It was very tough but I used the sirloin tips??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow, this was delicious. I too used fresh mushrooms cut in quarters. I also used 1 can diced tomatoes and only about 1/2 cup wine. The key to getting this sauce less watery is to cook it down by simmering it with the lid off on medium heat for about 10-15 min. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was really good! Thx for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Excellent! I took the advice of another cook and used sherry instead of wine, added onions...mmmmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Sauce was tasty, a bit too salty for my taste. Sauce was also too thin. I let it reduce for quite a while and it just did not thicken much. I used a little corstarch mixed with a little extra wine to thicken and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was good. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned (I hate canned mushrooms!). I tasted it while it was simmering and it was a little acidic and also a little bland so ended up adding some onion powder and a bay leaf for flavour and about a tablespoon of brown sugar to cut the acidity. I'll make this again with these additions, but I'll use the slow cooker so the meat be more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I had a dish in mind and this was as close as I could come to finding a recipe for what I was after. I added 1/2 cup chopped red onion with the sirloin. I added 1 cup of beef broth and then also added 1 tsp. thyme. After cooking for about an hour I thickened by mixing in a little water that had about 1-1/2 tsp. cornstartch mixed into it. I prefer to thicken with cornstarch vs. flour beause it mixes in so smoothly. Definitely use fresh mushrooms. We served over mashed potatoes and the kids loved it. Good hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
We followed all of the recommended additions. Our only change above they previously mentioned: we didin't have tomato sauce, so I used a 1/2 can of paste and 1/2 can of diced. I also did add in some flour to thicken. I'll add more flour next time, as it was still thin. This recipe with changes is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Great dish. I added brown sugar, and used fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States