Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
We enjoyed this quite a bit. I opted to cook this in my crock pot. I used beef stew meat, fresh brown mushrooms that I quartered, and roughly chopped onions. I also added a packet of beefy onion soup mix, and since I didn't have any wine I just added some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was GREAT! Made this last night for hubby and I and he went back for seconds and thirds. That doesn't usually happen on a new recipe. The only change I did was add some thyme and used fresh mushrooms, since that's what I had. Hubby has already asked when I'm making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this for dinner with a couple of minor changes... I used fresh mushrooms that I pre-browned... I 2 tbsp tomato for the tomato sauce and added the paste before the other ingredients after the meat had browned... I also added onion and bay leaf.. This was super good yes I made changes but the basic concept is solid and delicious. I can imagine that it would be 5 star even without my changes.. Thanks GRANNYA for a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was okay, nothing special, even with fresh mushrooms. Definitely would benefit from the addition of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
A delicious, hearty family meal that everyone who I served it to liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Give this TWO THUMBS way up. I did tweak the recipe a bit. I omitted the red wine (didn't have any) and the salt and added 2 Tsp of China Lily soy sauce, 2 cans sliced mushrooms (no juice), 2-lb cubed beef (I love my red meat), 2 Tsp McCormicks Smokehouse Ground Black Pepper, 4 sliced celery stalks and 1 Green Pepper (mainly just because it was in the fridge and needed to be used). Last ingredient I added was 1 x 10oz can of Campbell's Tomato with Basil and Oregano soup. Wife says it's an instant family hit and to keep it handy as we'll be making it lots. Bon apetit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M_DAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The beef was still on the tough side after the recommended cooking time, so I had to add a cup of beef broth and simmer it an extra hour. This did result in tender beef tips, but the sauce was pretty sour because of the tomato sauce. I will salvage the leftover beef tips and serve them in mushroom gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
It's lacking flavor, in spite of me adding garlic, onion powder and bouillon. It tastes like beef smothered in tomato sauce and wine, and that's it. No depth, very flat. It's a fairly easy recipe to use as maybe a starting place with LOTS of additions and substitutions but the recipe as written is just too plain-jane. Sorry but this one was a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senator
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I did add the thyme, bay leaf, and brown sugar suggested by another reviewer, and used sherry instead of the red wine because it was all I had on hand. We at this over mashed potatoes with some steamed broccoli on the side - tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Utterly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States