Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. I ate it with garlic mashed potatoes, which I think made a good compliment. I only had 1/2 the amount of mushrooms, but it didn't seem to be a problem. I didn't expect though this to have such an Italian taste and the color was very red to. I didn't think it had a ton of flavor, though, and I ended up adding more garlic, onion powder, garlic salt, and dried parsley. That really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. I actually cooked it on low for about 2 hours and the meat was so tender. I added 1/2 onion to the mushrooms and garlic and sauteed in a pan after I browned the meat. I also added 1 tablespoon brown sugar and alittle thyme and fresh parsley. I didn't have any wine so I just used about 1 cup of beef broth. After my dinner was done I added a few parm shavings for an awesome presentation....Thank you so much for the recipe NOTE...also at the end of cooking time added about 2 Tablespoons of cream cheese and 1 tablespoon of butter,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made as written (added bellpepper as garnish) except I had one major substitution which is that I used venison tenderloin instead of the beef. To all of you hunters out there, this works very nice with venison too. The only change I will make next time is to use fresh mushrooms instead of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Other than conversion to beef broth/fresh mushrooms (baby bella) for canned suggested by others, stayed with the recipie as is. Served over rice but mashed potato or egg noodles would be great too I'm sure. We're a family of six and I made enough for 8 portions. Gone... This one made the rotation after one shot. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dad's Cookin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Western, New York, USA
Living In: Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
We enjoyed this quite a bit. I opted to cook this in my crock pot. I used beef stew meat, fresh brown mushrooms that I quartered, and roughly chopped onions. I also added a packet of beefy onion soup mix, and since I didn't have any wine I just added some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was GREAT! Made this last night for hubby and I and he went back for seconds and thirds. That doesn't usually happen on a new recipe. The only change I did was add some thyme and used fresh mushrooms, since that's what I had. Hubby has already asked when I'm making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this for dinner with a couple of minor changes... I used fresh mushrooms that I pre-browned... I 2 tbsp tomato for the tomato sauce and added the paste before the other ingredients after the meat had browned... I also added onion and bay leaf.. This was super good yes I made changes but the basic concept is solid and delicious. I can imagine that it would be 5 star even without my changes.. Thanks GRANNYA for a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was okay, nothing special, even with fresh mushrooms. Definitely would benefit from the addition of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
A delicious, hearty family meal that everyone who I served it to liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Give this TWO THUMBS way up. I did tweak the recipe a bit. I omitted the red wine (didn't have any) and the salt and added 2 Tsp of China Lily soy sauce, 2 cans sliced mushrooms (no juice), 2-lb cubed beef (I love my red meat), 2 Tsp McCormicks Smokehouse Ground Black Pepper, 4 sliced celery stalks and 1 Green Pepper (mainly just because it was in the fridge and needed to be used). Last ingredient I added was 1 x 10oz can of Campbell's Tomato with Basil and Oregano soup. Wife says it's an instant family hit and to keep it handy as we'll be making it lots. Bon apetit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M_DAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States