Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The sirolin was a little tough. Would've preferred a more tender cut of meat. We used 3-cheese pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce. We served over whole wheat noodles & could not taste the "grain", as the sauce was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This recipe is healthy and tastes great, but I changed it so much it's difficult to rate the original recipe. I increased the amounts of garlic to 3-4 cloves, tomato sauce to 1 cup, and red wine to 1 cup. I added a can of tomatoes, a 1/3 can of tomato paste, used fresh shrooms and added onion. I also added oregano, rosemary, sage, thyme, and bay leaves. I sauteed the garlic, onion and shrooms, then added the spices, and then the beef. Added the rest and then simmered for 1.5-2 hours. The simmering time to reduce all the extra liquid is key to make a rich sauce!! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I have to give this a 'just okay' rating. It was good, not great though. I followed the recipe exact except I used a can of diced tomotes instead of sauce since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Very easy and delicious. I used fresh mushrooms and diced tomatoes in place of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was really good. I used fresh mushrooms and diced onions seasoned with seasoned salt and pepper. Also used beef boullion(no water) and a can of red gold diced tomatoes with basil and oregano. I had 1 lb. of sirloin and 1 lb. of chuck steak, simmered for almost 2 hours and the meat was sooooo tender. I served it over rice with french style green beans on the side and crusty bread.I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I can't believe there is not a 6. Easy and a great taste. Tweak to taste a little onion or whatever but more wine is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Simple, quick, tasty, and versatile. I doubled the recipe with...used pre-cut stew meat, half butter, half olive oil and to thicken it up added a package of mushroom gravy mix. Served over noodles with crescents & garlic sauteed asparagas... the boys did rock, paper, scissors over last portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was delicious! My husband had me save the sauce to put on mashed potatoes. I made a few changes. I used meat tenderizer on the tips, because the first time I made this they were kind of tough. I also used fresh mushrooms. Will definitely make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very good! Will definitely make again. I used cooking sherry instead of the wine and added 3 beef bouillon cubes. The sauce was a little runny so I added 2 T of flour. I served it with mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love this recipe. I tend to add a few more mushrooms and some chili powder for kick...but this is a great, easy way to impress anyone! I especially like it over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States