Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicious! I gave it 4 stars because it really needs more seasonings than indicated and I felt like I had to deviate a bit to ensure the dish was full-flavored. I diced and sauteed 1 small onion with the meat. I also used fresh mushrooms and sauteed them separately in olive oil and a bit of the red wine. Because I used more beef than specified, I mixed all the "sauce stuff" (to which I also added 2 tbsp of brown sugar) into the sauteed mushrooms and poured it into the skillet with the beef and onions.. this made it a lot easier to work with. Like others, I felt the sauce needed to be thickened. I mixed about a 1/2 cup of water with some cornstarch and poured it slowly into the skillet the last 15 minutes of cooking. This was soooooo good served over brown rice and with buscuits (gotta sop up that sauce!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peralta, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe was awesome! I only added one small can of mushrooms (our personal preference). I also used red wine vinegar as I didn't have any red wine. I added a little bit of flour at the end to thicken the sauce. It was a great meal that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Best recipe I've found on here. Loved it, but I did make a few changes. I used fresh mushrooms (saute first) and added 1 diced tomato, italian seasoning, oregano and a handful of chopped onion. I added the onion with the garlic. Wonderful! I served it over mashed potatoes. I highly suggest this. My husband asked to have it added to the regular rotation, which is a huge compliment. I think it has only happened twice before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really tasty - added beef broth and served it wuth couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I love this recipe. Made it a few times. Hubby loves it. Sometimes I add chopped onions to it or more tomato sauce or other things. But it's not necessary it turns out great if you just make it as is. Makes great lunch leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The sirolin was a little tough. Would've preferred a more tender cut of meat. We used 3-cheese pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce. We served over whole wheat noodles & could not taste the "grain", as the sauce was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This recipe is healthy and tastes great, but I changed it so much it's difficult to rate the original recipe. I increased the amounts of garlic to 3-4 cloves, tomato sauce to 1 cup, and red wine to 1 cup. I added a can of tomatoes, a 1/3 can of tomato paste, used fresh shrooms and added onion. I also added oregano, rosemary, sage, thyme, and bay leaves. I sauteed the garlic, onion and shrooms, then added the spices, and then the beef. Added the rest and then simmered for 1.5-2 hours. The simmering time to reduce all the extra liquid is key to make a rich sauce!! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I have to give this a 'just okay' rating. It was good, not great though. I followed the recipe exact except I used a can of diced tomotes instead of sauce since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Very easy and delicious. I used fresh mushrooms and diced tomatoes in place of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was really good. I used fresh mushrooms and diced onions seasoned with seasoned salt and pepper. Also used beef boullion(no water) and a can of red gold diced tomatoes with basil and oregano. I had 1 lb. of sirloin and 1 lb. of chuck steak, simmered for almost 2 hours and the meat was sooooo tender. I served it over rice with french style green beans on the side and crusty bread.I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States