Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This way yummy and easy. I will make it again. I wish i could give it 3.5 stars. It was good but nothing to get all excited about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I am sure the modifications listed by the other reviews are great. However, this is a wonderful, SIMPLE recipe. It is great as is and does not require changing. (that being said, I've had to make substituions ie no wine in house - used vinegar instead - it always turns out great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
oh my god..this is so good..you would never think that tomato sauce and red wine would make a delicious beefy gravy but it does. i used fresh mushrooms...thats the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very good, would have liked more sauce. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe was tasty, it would have been tastier had I not read reviews and made so many changes. I started off with just the ingredients listed in the recipe, and it smelled AWESOME! Then I started putting in things suggested by reviews like "lots of tyme", "Beef bullion", "Brown Sugar", and "wostershire sauce", NO THANKS. What I do think COMPLIMENTS the dish is; onion sauteed with garlic, extra wine, and some butter at the end. Adding too much changes the entire dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
The sirloin tips ended up being tough in the 30 minutes and tasted bland. The sauce didn't taste right. Seemed like the red wine didn't belong or there needed to be herbs added to tame the red wine sourness. I added beef broth and a bit of tomato paste to save it but that didn't help much. Probably would have been better to grill the sirloin and make the sauce seperately and also tweak the sauce, then add the meat just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
My husband and I both loved the flavor. I did add 2 tbsp of brown sugar as one reviewer suggested, just to take the bite out of the wine/tomato sauce though. The meat was way over done but I'm not sure if it's because of the cut that I chose or the timing. I actually cooked it less than recommended because I was worried that it was over cooking. Is that the reason my tips were tough/dry? Is it that they're undercooked or does dryness seal the deal for it being overcooked? Does anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My boyfriend works 12 hour days, and when he got home tonight, he was so psyched that this was on the table! We both agree that we will make this over and over again. I simmered everything for another 30 minutes so that the sauce reduced and thickened to perfection, and served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vermontista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is an excellent recipe and so easy! I did add chopped onion, bay leaf an some dried thyme for my personal taste. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This turned out really good....I cut up a london briol...added onion...used 1 cup of sherry it is what I had open...8 ounces can of tomato sauce...a can of crushed tomatoes ..I also added thyme,bay leaves and alot of fresh mushrooms...I cooked it much longer than the 40 min...the meat turned out tender and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States