Sirloin Steak Dianne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I was skeptical about cooking this dish with the recipe calling for so many unmatched ingredients, but I did and presented it to my family as a steak recipe. It is edible and all of us finished but left most of the sauce on our plates. I certainly don't want to dicourage others from using this recipe so I am giving it a three. For those who wish a Steak Diane ( named after the Roman "hunter" goddess), use filet mignon rubbed with garlic and crushed black peppercorns and fried quickly, very quickly, in butter; deglazethe pan juices with more butter, finely chopped shallots, heavy creme, beef stock and if desired, a dash of Worcestershire sauce, and flambeed with brandy. The sauce is then poured over the steak prior to serving. I serve pommes frites and pea pods to accompany. Bon Appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
After preparing and eating this for the first time, my husband told me this was the best steak he had ever had. Considering that we are competitive cooks and live in a part of the country that is known for its steaks, that is quite a statement. One recommendation: the recipe calls for "steak sauce"....make sure it is one that you really like because the steak sauce provides a lot of flavor to this the cream sauce. I didn't use a steak "sauce" at all....I used my favorite steak marinade: Allegro Original Marinade. Also 1/2 cup of Dijon mustard seems like a lot, so just eyeball it and slather it on to each side of the steak so that it coats each side evenly...like spreading mustard on a sandwich. I probably used between 1/4 to 1/2 to coat all four sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I made this for my husband and mother-in-law they loved it! I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I didn't like about it was the meat did start to get tough when you put it back into the pan with the mushrooms and sauce. It really only needs to be in there for about 30 seconds. I also had my butcher tenderize the steaks. There was a lot of the sauce left over next time we will have mash potatoes instead of wild rice. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
DH is rating this a 5 star recipe. He absolutely loved it. All I kept hearing was mm, mm, mm. I rarely eat beef but I did have a few bites and it was quite delicious. I think I will cut back on the mustard just a bit next time. Otherwise, I made it exactly as stated. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Good EatNZ
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious and very elegant. Fine dining at home! Next time, I will cook the onions a bit longer -- they were not quite soft enough. Note that I said, 'Next time,' and it will be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I am so impressed with this recipe. Its better than what I've tasted at 5 star restaurants. I didn't use the brandy or ignite the sauce, but I don't think you need to. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Everytime I've made this it's been a hit. There is definately a lot of sauce left over, so I always make mashed potatoes with it and use the sauce as a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My husband said that this was the best steak he ever ate. Which is exceptional since he is picky about steak!!! The flames were wild (first time doing that) but this was easy and very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was ok. Just way way to much mustard for us. I would use less then half of what it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Steak Dianne is a favorite of mine at Perry's Steak house in Houston, this recipe didn't come close to meeting my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States