Sirloin Steak Dianne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
The sauce was excellent, but why would anyone go through all the work & expense to use sirloin? Use a good cut (tenderloin), and this will get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
After preparing and eating this for the first time, my husband told me this was the best steak he had ever had. Considering that we are competitive cooks and live in a part of the country that is known for its steaks, that is quite a statement. One recommendation: the recipe calls for "steak sauce"....make sure it is one that you really like because the steak sauce provides a lot of flavor to this the cream sauce. I didn't use a steak "sauce" at all....I used my favorite steak marinade: Allegro Original Marinade. Also 1/2 cup of Dijon mustard seems like a lot, so just eyeball it and slather it on to each side of the steak so that it coats each side evenly...like spreading mustard on a sandwich. I probably used between 1/4 to 1/2 to coat all four sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I was skeptical about cooking this dish with the recipe calling for so many unmatched ingredients, but I did and presented it to my family as a steak recipe. It is edible and all of us finished but left most of the sauce on our plates. I certainly don't want to dicourage others from using this recipe so I am giving it a three. For those who wish a Steak Diane ( named after the Roman "hunter" goddess), use filet mignon rubbed with garlic and crushed black peppercorns and fried quickly, very quickly, in butter; deglazethe pan juices with more butter, finely chopped shallots, heavy creme, beef stock and if desired, a dash of Worcestershire sauce, and flambeed with brandy. The sauce is then poured over the steak prior to serving. I serve pommes frites and pea pods to accompany. Bon Appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Good EatNZ
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious and very elegant. Fine dining at home! Next time, I will cook the onions a bit longer -- they were not quite soft enough. Note that I said, 'Next time,' and it will be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was so yummy! I didn't think there was any one overpowering taste at all. The blend of ingredients was absolutely perfect. I don't have a kitchen mallet, so I used meat tenderizer and stabbed it multiple times with a fork. I was amazed at how tender the meat was, too! I will absolutely make this one again...most likely as a dinner party main dish so I can impress our friends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyRobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Outstanding! Even my picky eater loved this steak. I used less mustard - I just spread the mustard on the steaks as instructed. The sauce has a wonderful flavor and would be good on tenderloin also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
wonderful! i used whole milk because i didn't have cream and only used 1 tbsp of dijon on each piece. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband LOVED this dish. I actually made the sauce by itself, without the steak. We wanted to grill outside, so we grilled the steak and made the sauce indoors. It turned out great. I will for sure be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I wasn't able to make this exactly as it called me to, but was still great and I am looking forward to making it again (with red wine, instead of sherry). It's a really nice "date" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
We eat all dinners from a microwave, due to shift work. BF "LOVED LOVED LOVED" it. We did not have steak sauce, so I omitted that. I covered the beef while it was in the pan the second time. Came out VERY tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States