Sirecz (Easter Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
very easy and just like my Polish grandma used to make. I pressed it between 2 cutting boards (in the sink) with a cast iron stock pot ontop of the cutting board. It drained faster and had more of a loaf shape. Flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
My Mother made this using a recipe from my father's side of the family. I continue to make it every Easter. We don't do the very sweet or the pepper versions. A revere ware double boiler that sits inside the pot cannot hold the full quart if the eggs are large. So, I prepare the egg, 1/4 cup of sugar (not too sweet, not too bland), 1 Tsp of vanilla extract, 1 Tsp of salt, with some milk, beating it well. I put it in the double boiler and add the remaining milk till it's a 1/16 of a inch below the rim. It will expand as the curds form. Nobody should time it. If the upper portion (where the mixture is) of the double boiler is in the boiling it will take longer. If the water is below the upper pot, it will cook fast on med high heat. So, if it takes 20 minutes or 50 minutes, cook until the curds are like dense scrambled eggs, and the liquid is getting very watery. I hang it from an upper cabinet and let it drip into the sink or over a pot. I let it hang over night, (8 to 12 hours). Then it does not need to hang inside a pot in the fridge. If made on Holy Saturday evening, it'll be ready on Easter morning. I use a high thread count (cheese) cloth that I got in a grocery store. It is not like the gauze type, but more like the pillowcase/sheet type. It is rectangular, twice as long as it's width. I fold in half and line the colander. I use regular twine, tied at the ends so it's a loop. Wrap once around and slip one end in the loop, so it tightens on itself, for annual use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carthm
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Just like my Great Aunt used to make! I was pretty surprised that it was not too difficult either. I was a child when she would make this, I remember the cheese ball hanging from a knob on the kitchen cabinet! Glad I found this recipe, I think she would be proud :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My babba made a similar hrudka, but she kept it only to egg, milk, and a tsp of salt. This was definitely a sweeter taste, but definitely enjoyable! I'm surprised you didn't mention that the liquid could be saved and made into homemade egg nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
We use garlic powder, salt and pepper instead of the sugar - ours is spicier instead of sweet and very yummy - when we put it out on the plate with dinner , we sprinkle paprika lightly and adorn with green olive slices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
THANK YOU!!!!!!! I am sooooo excited to make this for my husband. His Mom used to make this for him every Easter.She has passed away and I could not find her recipe anywhere. GOD BLESS YOU!!!!!! Nunny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My German Baba (with a Polish husband) called this Yi-etch-nik. Made it just with a dozen eggs, a quart of milk and some salt. Served with ham, boiled bacon, and the ever popular grated red beets with horseradish. Will try this version this year, if I can still wring out the cheesecloth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I was in TEARS (of joy) when I found this recipe! The hardest part was the spelling, as my Grandma's pronunciation 'SI-DIK,' very heavy on the r and cz, making it difficult to find! Grandma made this religiously, and I never got the recipe because it was something that I could 'take or leave!' But then my brothers started missing it, and I was compelled to find it. How she managed, at 89, to still wring the cheesecloth is beyond me, but God Bless HER, she is my inspiration for all things culinary. I have been making it for 3 years now, and will continue the tradition FOREVER, and serve it on ham sandwiches (with horseradish), and pair it with her homemade pickled beets and eggs!!!! Thank you LORRIE28!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I use a flour sack style towel for mine, It makes a smoother outside than the cheesecloth. My granny's and mother in law hung theirs outside on the line for a couple hours but I have to get creative since the days before Easter tend to rain here. I usually cut the sugar in half and do not add vanilla or other flavorings. I have always used the electric mixer with no problems. I also found I didn't really need a double boiler as long as you stir constantly. It burns quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My mom made this every year for Easter, but she never used sugar or vanilla or nutmeg, only a little salt. We loved it paired with ham on a sandwhich. Also, she told me never to used an electic mixer for the eggs but I dont know why. Also, I find it is an acquired taste, but I have to have it out at Easter, along with the horseradish beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Natural Easter Egg Dyes

See how to make natural egg dye using food products you probably have on hand!

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States