Sioux Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Tasty goodness! I made this using almond milk instead of regular milk, but other than that, I stuck to the recipe, and it came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Very good. Next time I will add a teaspoon of vanilla extract though. The people who didn't like it because it was to strong of molasses flavor. There are different kinds of molasses. There are three runs done on the same cane stalks. First run is mild. Tastes like a mix of molasses, honey,& buttery corn syrup. Second run is stronger more bitter,and darker. The third run is called Black strap. It's the strongest darkest run. Most of what you see in grocery stores is second and third run mixed together. I buy first run from the Amish. It's so much better tasting I eat a little of it with a spoon when using it. Easy was to tell is by color. Lighter is getter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I've never tasted Indian Pudding, so I read all the reviews and then tried it with these modifications. I subbed 1/4 C Masa for corn meal (reduced gritty texture), honey for molasses, pumpkin pie spice for cinnamon and ginger, Splenda for sugar, and used skim milk. I cooked it till it thickened up, but it didn't take 10 minutes. Might need less Masa next time as I think this was a bit thicker than other reviewers described. I also baked this as you would any custard, in a water bath, even though it didn't contain eggs. Might try another variation with two eggs and 2 tablespoons of Masa just to see if I like that better. It seemed like a lot of raters were going for a mild pumpkin pie taste, and while I liked this, anyone wanting a traditional Indian pudding might not. P.S. If you don't like the gritty texture of cornmeal, process dry cornmeal in a blender or food processor until it becomes flour, and then use the corn flour in the recipe. I chose Masa instead because it has a better B vitamin profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My family really liked this pudding. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. My husband said it reminded him of pumpkin pie. I followed the ingredients exactly (used 1% milk since it didn't specify) but I baked the pudding in 4 (10 oz.) ramekins. It set up perfectly. I think maybe the people that had trouble with setting up didn't cook it on the stove long enough. You have to bring it to a full rolling boil and stir constantly until it is very thick, almost like oatmeal. It took the full 10 minutes of cooking to get thick enough. If you miss that step no matter how long you bake it in the oven it will not set up. This was a great comfort food and I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars already and its not even out of the oven!! I added 3 cinnamon sticks and ginger and raisins. I'm looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I tried this recipe and I loved it and it made the house smell great when it was baking in the oven. I also put a big scoop of brighams vanalla ice cream on it. It was a perfect desert for a cold winter day. I am wondering if I should try it next time with apples or nuts or raisens. It came out of the oven solid on the top but soft on the inside and since this is the first time I tried it I do not know if that is the way it is suppose to turn out but I liked and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Taste was good....but it never firmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Elwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Really good and easy to make. Not something I`d serve at a dinner party though. Great for comfort food or in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I followed the directions EXACTLY. After baking 2 hours it's still had not set. The flavor was just OK. Perhaps, if it had set-up firmer and was less runny, it would have looked more appealing. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent! Loved it. would not change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States