Sioux Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I used this recipie in a cultural presentation for my college nursing class. At first I thought no one would touch it, but instead everyone loved it! It has a different texture than expected, and you must like molasses. Also I think its much better served cold than hot....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
My boyfriend mentioned in passing, how much he liked Indian Pudding. I'd never heard of, eaten, or even seen Indian Pudding. As a surprise, I made this recipe...and loved it. It takes a while to cook it, but my boyfriend said it was "just like Moms." I loved it with Vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Interesting recipe. You really need to like molasses. I might try it again w/o the molasses. Pretty good with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I had this for dessert at a restaurant and loved it. I looked everywhere for a recipe. I finally found this recipe, and it tasted exactly the same as the restaurant's. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Thanks for this recipe. This was as good as ones I had as a little girl! Keep stirring the milk mixture as mine burned a bit with the molasses at the bottom of the pan. However, the burnt bottom did not transfer it's taste into the pudding. Serve with heavy whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Wow. A nice thing to whip up; it's unbelieveably easy to make, and is a lovely textured treat. I only had demerara sugar, so there was a STRONG molasses taste, but I liked that. My boyfriend said he would give it a miss, and the next time I looked, he'd taken two pieces, one after another! Gues he liked it too... ;) You could probably substitute honey for the molasses if you don't like such a strong flavour. I'll give that a go next time & report back...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I really like this pudding. It has a very nice custard consistency. The molasses flavor is strong, but I like molasses a lot. It is time consuming though. My pudding came out very sweet because I was short on molasses, so I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. The original recipe is probably not so sweet. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
WOW is right! Like RELI8 suggested, I used honey instead of molasses because thats all I had. It turned out great! An interesting and yummy texture. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I made Indian Pudding years ago and that recipe called for eggs; this one did not. I was a bit skeptical at first wondering if it would "set up" properly. I did "lighten" the recipe up a little and used Skim Milk instead of whole and added a touch of fresh ground nutmeg. It did set up dispite it seeming very "mushy" coming out of the oven. And since it wasn't covered you have a "film" on the top. I may try covering it during the baking next time to eliminate that film, even though it didn't really take anything away from the pudding's flavor. The molassas definately dominated the taste. So for anyone who doesn't like molassas this is not for you. OR...as some other's did, substitute honey for the molassas. We served it warm with a whipped topping. Needless to say, it's gone. It was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Great recipe!! I took the advice of some others and used half honey & half molasses to lighted the molasses flavor. I will be using this recipe for a multicultural event we have coming up----tastes just like Grandma's!!! Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States