Sioux Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I found this had kind of a funny texture to it. It could have been the cornmeal I used, but it was very gritty. The flavor was ok--I really like molasses, but I'm not sure I'd make it again due to the unpleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Sorry, but didn't like this recipe, too much molasses and too much ginger. I even added some brown sugar. I really like my late Mother-in-law's recipe for Indian Pudding and this is what I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
my family did not care for this recipe. i'd like to say i appreciate how this recipe must have come down through the generations. unfortuneately, it was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUANDLILYSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I also prefer it to be made using half honey, half molasses. I make it pretty often, we love it so much. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IVANDIEPART
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I didn't know what an "indian pudding" could be, but the title of the recipe just appealed to me, and so did the ingredients. I substitued 1/2 of the molasses with honey (because my sister is not very fond of molasses), and I think I will always do it this way (I rather like a subtle molasses flavor than a strong taste). This dessert was even good served hot, warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I really had high hopes for this but the result was somewhat disappointing. To be fair, I did like it when it just came out of the oven, but when it cooled down, I could barely take a bite. I'll give it another try tomorrow, and this time I will heat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I made this for my boyfriend. He thought it was the best Indian Pudding he has ever had. Just the best, came out exactly as described. Send in more great recipe's. Thanks again Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Great recipe!! I took the advice of some others and used half honey & half molasses to lighted the molasses flavor. I will be using this recipe for a multicultural event we have coming up----tastes just like Grandma's!!! Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I made Indian Pudding years ago and that recipe called for eggs; this one did not. I was a bit skeptical at first wondering if it would "set up" properly. I did "lighten" the recipe up a little and used Skim Milk instead of whole and added a touch of fresh ground nutmeg. It did set up dispite it seeming very "mushy" coming out of the oven. And since it wasn't covered you have a "film" on the top. I may try covering it during the baking next time to eliminate that film, even though it didn't really take anything away from the pudding's flavor. The molassas definately dominated the taste. So for anyone who doesn't like molassas this is not for you. OR...as some other's did, substitute honey for the molassas. We served it warm with a whipped topping. Needless to say, it's gone. It was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
WOW is right! Like RELI8 suggested, I used honey instead of molasses because thats all I had. It turned out great! An interesting and yummy texture. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States