Sioux Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Had several recipes for this, but none the same as my grandmothers, this is it, except she used pumkin pie spice instead of ginger. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
It had a sort of a pumpkin pie taste- but a very funny texture. I liked it fairly well, but my family didn't feel the same way. They thought it had a little too much molasses in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot! I tried substituting half of the molasses with honey, but didn't have any so I used half pancake syrup (that's all I had!) and half molasses. It turned out great! Also, instead of using whole milk, I used 2% and it came out wonderful. I put some fat free whip cream on top and it was yummy! Mine didn't turn out gritty at all like one reviewer said. It was actually very smooth. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I found this had kind of a funny texture to it. It could have been the cornmeal I used, but it was very gritty. The flavor was ok--I really like molasses, but I'm not sure I'd make it again due to the unpleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Sorry, but didn't like this recipe, too much molasses and too much ginger. I even added some brown sugar. I really like my late Mother-in-law's recipe for Indian Pudding and this is what I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
my family did not care for this recipe. i'd like to say i appreciate how this recipe must have come down through the generations. unfortuneately, it was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUANDLILYSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I also prefer it to be made using half honey, half molasses. I make it pretty often, we love it so much. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IVANDIEPART
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I didn't know what an "indian pudding" could be, but the title of the recipe just appealed to me, and so did the ingredients. I substitued 1/2 of the molasses with honey (because my sister is not very fond of molasses), and I think I will always do it this way (I rather like a subtle molasses flavor than a strong taste). This dessert was even good served hot, warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I really had high hopes for this but the result was somewhat disappointing. To be fair, I did like it when it just came out of the oven, but when it cooled down, I could barely take a bite. I'll give it another try tomorrow, and this time I will heat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I made this for my boyfriend. He thought it was the best Indian Pudding he has ever had. Just the best, came out exactly as described. Send in more great recipe's. Thanks again Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States