Sioux Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
A little like Home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
reminds me of pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was really good, mostly because I love molasses. I doubled the ginger and cinnamon and would decrease the milk next time, by about 1/2 c. because it took twice the time to bake than the recipe suggested. Maybe it was the humidity of the cornmeal that I had. I WILL be making this again for the Thanksgiving holiday when they do the corn harvest around here. Thank you for sharing this rare recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My husband really enjoyed the pudding but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I made this for an Autumn themed party a while ago. I personally don't care for puddings like this but everyone at the party loved it and demanded the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I love Indian Pudding, and have always had a hard time cooking it. One thing i did learn from a cheif in the family, was when you put it into the oven to bake, put it into a larger pan, or baking dish, filled with water, it helps so the middle isn't runnie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This was easy to make and the flavor was wonderfully intense. I added the dry ingredients slowly with a whisk so as to avoid lumps and may have ended up cooking it too long. It passed the thickened stage, became runny again, and stayed that way through the baking. After refrigerating the consistency was much thicker. It's perfect warmed in a bowl with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Had several recipes for this, but none the same as my grandmothers, this is it, except she used pumkin pie spice instead of ginger. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
It had a sort of a pumpkin pie taste- but a very funny texture. I liked it fairly well, but my family didn't feel the same way. They thought it had a little too much molasses in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot! I tried substituting half of the molasses with honey, but didn't have any so I used half pancake syrup (that's all I had!) and half molasses. It turned out great! Also, instead of using whole milk, I used 2% and it came out wonderful. I put some fat free whip cream on top and it was yummy! Mine didn't turn out gritty at all like one reviewer said. It was actually very smooth. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States