Sinigang na Baka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe was awesome...I just replaced the broccoli with daikon(Japanese radish) and sliced them about 1/8 of an inch thick. The daikon doesn't add any flavor to the already good soup, it just taste really good in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
loved it! masarap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This was great and easy. I've been trying to cook Filipino food and this was a simple recipe. I didn't use all the vegetables and I used other vegetables in replacement. I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
My husband loved it. The best filipino food he has had in a long time, reminds him of his grandmother's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Yummy! I substituted the beef for pork and shrimp and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
My husband is Filippino and this is one of the MOST DELICIOUS traditional meals he has ever made for me! Some things he does differently: We use pork instead of beef. You can also use shrimp. We leave the oil out (healthier that way) and cook in this order - Combine water, onions, and tomato. Bring to a boil for about 5 minutes. Then add tamarind soup base, pork, and green beans. Cook for one hour. Add bok choy, cover, and reduce heat for about 10 minutes and serve over rice. An entree'? we do not need one! We love this too much to mess it up with anything on the side! We sometimes also add radishes. Sounds disgusting, but it's REALLY great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
My boyfriend is filippino and he LOVES this recipe!! He wanted it with a little more spice and so I added crushed red pepper at the beginning. It worked GREAT! He asks me to make it at least once a week!! We both love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I skip the oil as well. Also, if you want to give it more of a kick, I recommend jalepenos instead of red pepper. To make it thicker, add gabi or even a handful of mashed potato mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Masarap! The soup had a great flavor. I didn't use exactly the same vegetables (cabbage and kale instead of bok choy and green beans), but then the sinigang is versatile with vegetables. Made it with a side of rice... Yum! :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Outstanding Recipe! My husband is Filipino and he really enjoyed this dish. His only suggestions were to use beef WITH bones and to water the soup down a little more (2 qts of water as opposed to 1 qt). Dinner was a hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States