Sinigang na Baka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
My husband is Filippino and this is one of the MOST DELICIOUS traditional meals he has ever made for me! Some things he does differently: We use pork instead of beef. You can also use shrimp. We leave the oil out (healthier that way) and cook in this order - Combine water, onions, and tomato. Bring to a boil for about 5 minutes. Then add tamarind soup base, pork, and green beans. Cook for one hour. Add bok choy, cover, and reduce heat for about 10 minutes and serve over rice. An entree'? we do not need one! We love this too much to mess it up with anything on the side! We sometimes also add radishes. Sounds disgusting, but it's REALLY great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I tried the recipe, it was good but it needs a little more souring. Anyway, if you want to make it spicy, add green na sili, also I'd suggest gabi to make it a little thicker. The vegetables my mom added were kangkong, gabi, tomatoes and sometimes, eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki avery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Made this recipe on the recommendation of a coworker. What an unusual flavor. Omitted the beef and added okra and taro root. Yum! We put it on top of rice and it was really filling. My mom told me it was the best soup she's ever eaten and my husband gave it the thumb's up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
My mother is from the Philippines and while her sinigang is similar, she used beef, large diced potatoes and turnips, mustard greens, and shrimp. And no sinigang meal was ever complete without the salty fried pork chops and pot of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
My boyfriend is filippino and he LOVES this recipe!! He wanted it with a little more spice and so I added crushed red pepper at the beginning. It worked GREAT! He asks me to make it at least once a week!! We both love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
If using a non-tender cut of pork (e.g. roast cut into cubes), make sure you simmer it for a while with the onion and garlic (I didn't, and the tough meat was the only thing I did wrong). When meat is tender to the prick of a fork, I would add the Knorr packet and the tomato wedges. Boil gently for 5 minutes. Then add 2" long bean slices (instead of string bean) and daikon (sliced 1/4" thick half-disks). Boil gently for another 5 minutes. Add baby bok choy (bottoms trimmed off) and shrimp. Boil gentlly for last 3 minutes. This process yielded a very colorful and yummy dish! I'm Filipina and this is the first time I've made this flavorful, economical and nutritious soup. Thanks to the poster and the reviewers, it wasn't a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was great! Authentic Sinigang. I have never had sinigang with broccoli so I left that out. I used 4 cloves of garlic and the green beans need more than 20 minutes to simmer. Additionally, I also used 2 quarts of water, not 1. With those adjustments, it was certainly 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I skip the oil as well. Also, if you want to give it more of a kick, I recommend jalepenos instead of red pepper. To make it thicker, add gabi or even a handful of mashed potato mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
this is excellent quick and easy, I used a crockpot and the flavor got even better the longer it simmered over rice it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is perfect, but I personally like to add the most important ingredient in a good sinigang (in my opinion). You must add taro root (the smaller taro root found in asian supermarkets). It gives the broth that creamy consistency of miso soup. So delicious! Add it when you add the beef, because it takes a while to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States