Sinigang na Baka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
loved it! masarap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This was great and easy. I've been trying to cook Filipino food and this was a simple recipe. I didn't use all the vegetables and I used other vegetables in replacement. I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
My husband loved it. The best filipino food he has had in a long time, reminds him of his grandmother's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
My mother is from the Philippines and while her sinigang is similar, she used beef, large diced potatoes and turnips, mustard greens, and shrimp. And no sinigang meal was ever complete without the salty fried pork chops and pot of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
this was ok... i wasn't exactly like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Yummy! I substituted the beef for pork and shrimp and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
My husband is Filippino and this is one of the MOST DELICIOUS traditional meals he has ever made for me! Some things he does differently: We use pork instead of beef. You can also use shrimp. We leave the oil out (healthier that way) and cook in this order - Combine water, onions, and tomato. Bring to a boil for about 5 minutes. Then add tamarind soup base, pork, and green beans. Cook for one hour. Add bok choy, cover, and reduce heat for about 10 minutes and serve over rice. An entree'? we do not need one! We love this too much to mess it up with anything on the side! We sometimes also add radishes. Sounds disgusting, but it's REALLY great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
My boyfriend is filippino and he LOVES this recipe!! He wanted it with a little more spice and so I added crushed red pepper at the beginning. It worked GREAT! He asks me to make it at least once a week!! We both love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Aside from the fact it's given me RAGING heartburn, I quite enjoyed this. I loved the tangy soup base, but I would, however, experiment with the rest a bit - I wasn't that keen on the beans and broc. I like the idea of potatoes, and maybe chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I tried the recipe, it was good but it needs a little more souring. Anyway, if you want to make it spicy, add green na sili, also I'd suggest gabi to make it a little thicker. The vegetables my mom added were kangkong, gabi, tomatoes and sometimes, eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki avery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States