Sinigang na Baka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
this recipe is very good, original dish doesnt have broccoli and you can also use head-on shrimp insyead of the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe was awesome...I just replaced the broccoli with daikon(Japanese radish) and sliced them about 1/8 of an inch thick. The daikon doesn't add any flavor to the already good soup, it just taste really good in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I skip the oil as well. Also, if you want to give it more of a kick, I recommend jalepenos instead of red pepper. To make it thicker, add gabi or even a handful of mashed potato mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I tried the recipe, it was good but it needs a little more souring. Anyway, if you want to make it spicy, add green na sili, also I'd suggest gabi to make it a little thicker. The vegetables my mom added were kangkong, gabi, tomatoes and sometimes, eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki avery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Aside from the fact it's given me RAGING heartburn, I quite enjoyed this. I loved the tangy soup base, but I would, however, experiment with the rest a bit - I wasn't that keen on the beans and broc. I like the idea of potatoes, and maybe chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
My boyfriend is filippino and he LOVES this recipe!! He wanted it with a little more spice and so I added crushed red pepper at the beginning. It worked GREAT! He asks me to make it at least once a week!! We both love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
My husband is Filippino and this is one of the MOST DELICIOUS traditional meals he has ever made for me! Some things he does differently: We use pork instead of beef. You can also use shrimp. We leave the oil out (healthier that way) and cook in this order - Combine water, onions, and tomato. Bring to a boil for about 5 minutes. Then add tamarind soup base, pork, and green beans. Cook for one hour. Add bok choy, cover, and reduce heat for about 10 minutes and serve over rice. An entree'? we do not need one! We love this too much to mess it up with anything on the side! We sometimes also add radishes. Sounds disgusting, but it's REALLY great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Yummy! I substituted the beef for pork and shrimp and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
this was ok... i wasn't exactly like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
My mother is from the Philippines and while her sinigang is similar, she used beef, large diced potatoes and turnips, mustard greens, and shrimp. And no sinigang meal was ever complete without the salty fried pork chops and pot of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States