Sinigang na Baka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
***** Five Stars. I also Add 2 Tbsp. Mochiko Sweet Rice Flour(dissolved in 1/2cup water) to make it more creamy.I also heard, Adding 2 TBSP's METAMUCIL Clear is also good for us on High Cholesterol Diet.>"The psyllium fiber from Metamucil® benefits your overall health in so many ways." LOLZ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
If using a non-tender cut of pork (e.g. roast cut into cubes), make sure you simmer it for a while with the onion and garlic (I didn't, and the tough meat was the only thing I did wrong). When meat is tender to the prick of a fork, I would add the Knorr packet and the tomato wedges. Boil gently for 5 minutes. Then add 2" long bean slices (instead of string bean) and daikon (sliced 1/4" thick half-disks). Boil gently for another 5 minutes. Add baby bok choy (bottoms trimmed off) and shrimp. Boil gentlly for last 3 minutes. This process yielded a very colorful and yummy dish! I'm Filipina and this is the first time I've made this flavorful, economical and nutritious soup. Thanks to the poster and the reviewers, it wasn't a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this is one of my favorites over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blairsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Comfort food. It was so good, though I changed quite a bit. I used veggie burgers instead of meat with spinach , green beans and cauliflower. I also used soy sauce, tamarind paste and nutritional yeast instead of tamarind soup mix. Thanks a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Outstanding Recipe! My husband is Filipino and he really enjoyed this dish. His only suggestions were to use beef WITH bones and to water the soup down a little more (2 qts of water as opposed to 1 qt). Dinner was a hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Masarap! The soup had a great flavor. I didn't use exactly the same vegetables (cabbage and kale instead of bok choy and green beans), but then the sinigang is versatile with vegetables. Made it with a side of rice... Yum! :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This tasted very good, but I think I didn't sear or prepare the pork quite properly. I would make it again however. It was a wonderful way to enjoy vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Yum! When it said to cook the beef for 20-30 mins, I did that in a pressure cooker. That made the meat very tender. I substituted the broccoli with spinach. The sinigang soup packet I used also had taro powder in the mix which adds a slightly thicker consistency. After adding all the vegetables, to the broth, it almost filled my pressure cooker. I’ll be freezing the left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Awesome! My mom who is Filipina said she loved it and that it was better than she remembered having back home. My step dad, who isn't Filipino, loved it just as much and had 2 huge helpings. I doubled the amount of green beans, used 4 large roma tomatoes, used 1 lb lean pork and 1 lb shrimp instead of beef and doubled the tamarind. The kind of Filipino food we usually eat isn't really that healthy...By adding extra veggies and switching to lean meats, I was able to cut calories and fat, while still giving my mom a traditional dish that she loved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaiahzMahm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lihue, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Very different taste. Never had tamarind before. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States