Sinigang na Baka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My husband is Filipino and I'm Caucasian...having no idea where to start or how this is supposed to taste, I found this recipe and tried it out..I made a few tweeks here and there on the vegetables by adding some onion for flavor and my husband raved! He said it was perfect and tasted just like his Aunt used to make him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Tasted just like my Filipino mother in law's! I loved it! I didn't add the broccoli, green beans or tomatoes. I also did not saute in oil. I just added the onions, garlic & Knorr Tamarind Soup packet to the water. Brought that to a boil then added the beef & bok choy. Delicous. But it does make a TON so I'll be eating this for days. Unless I freeze some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
this is excellent quick and easy, I used a crockpot and the flavor got even better the longer it simmered over rice it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is perfect, but I personally like to add the most important ingredient in a good sinigang (in my opinion). You must add taro root (the smaller taro root found in asian supermarkets). It gives the broth that creamy consistency of miso soup. So delicious! Add it when you add the beef, because it takes a while to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Made this recipe on the recommendation of a coworker. What an unusual flavor. Omitted the beef and added okra and taro root. Yum! We put it on top of rice and it was really filling. My mom told me it was the best soup she's ever eaten and my husband gave it the thumb's up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I added my favorite part of Sinigang Okre, my fiancee is filipino and hates Okre but he can remove it. I'm so happy to have joined this site. Love all the pointers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jtengco25
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I'm Haitian and my husband is Filipino. I made this to surprise him and was he!! He loved it and so did I! The recipe is SO easy to follow, every major item is easily found in the local grocery store and it tastes great! Its perfect for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtengco25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I finally cooked this dish and it was very tasty. I wasn't for sure how I would like the tamrind taste, but we added a little salt to balance it out and cornstarch to thicken the soup and this also helped balance out the taste. Very good, and I would make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Delicious! I didn't add the broccoli because my mom's version doesn't include that so I thought I'd leave it out as well. I used pork ribs instead of beef, which I boiled for 2 hours beforehand so the meat would be really tender. I also added a little bit of Patis but only used 3/4 of the tamirind base so it wouldn't be too sour. All in all this turned out great & was a great fix to my having missed mom's home cooking for the past few weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was great! Authentic Sinigang. I have never had sinigang with broccoli so I left that out. I used 4 cloves of garlic and the green beans need more than 20 minutes to simmer. Additionally, I also used 2 quarts of water, not 1. With those adjustments, it was certainly 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States