Single Cup Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Several months ago before you posted this as a recipe, I asked if anyone had a Buttered Rum recipe in the exchange. You were kind enough to write the entire recipe out on my post. I tried it, I loved it and now I'm happy to see that I can rate it. I realized you posted it when I went to review your awesome shrimp salsa. Please WW, keep the recipes coming! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I think I'm coming down with a cold so I was looking for a warm drink with a little kick that might help this sore throat and general icky feeling I have. I didn't have creme brulee flavored ice cream but I did have Ben and Jerry's cinnamon roll ice cream so I used that. Otherwise, I kept it to the recipe only using Captain Morgan's spiced rum because that was all I had on hand. This was awesome. I'm actually getting ready to make another one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Whether or not it keeps colds away - who cares!!!! What a flavour - calories be d**ned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Yum, yum, yum!!! Love it. I used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum and Vanilla Rum coffee creamer instead of icecream. It turned out fantastic, will definantly be making another one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Reeeeeealy nice night cap with the hubs! Made his with lactose free vanilla ice cream and a little caramel topping. Both were delicious! Thanks Laurrie for a great recipe! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Yummy. weathered turned cold and I was looking for a something to warm me and this was the perfect drink. I used coffee ice cream and that does the trick too. I suggest trying different flavors of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This tastes great so I gave it 5 stars, but I almost gave it four since I changed things... I found the finished drink to be too small and weak so I doubled it and then added an extra shot (that way it fit my cup ;]). I also used all brown sugar and vanilla ice cream, and whisky instead of rum. Can't wait to share the recipe and try ti with hot apple juice instead of water! Thanks for sharing with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This should be double cup hot buttered rum. There is no way I could drink just one of these. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I've been sick for a couple of weeks and just found out I have pneumonia...with strict orders to rest and get plenty of fluids. That's what the doctor ordered. Friends just kept saying that I should have some whiskey, which got me in the mood for a hot, alcoholic drink to soothe my congestion. Hot toddy's seem a bit much for me, but this recipe was perfect and my husband made 4 of them for me throughout the day yesterday. We only had pumpkin flavored ice cream and chose spiced rum, which added a nice fall twist on the recipe. I barely tasted the alcohol and never felt it and today I don't have a hangover in the slightest. Maybe I'll make myself another cup now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Hmmm, well Ive never had hot buttered rum before this, but I find it very watery as is. The second time I tried it, I used hot milk instead of water, which was much better. I guess that's not very *authentic*, but the hot apple juice alternative that people have mentioned sounds terrible. I suppose I should try it anyway before I give up on hot buttered rum altogether... Added later: Forget water or apple juice. Use hot coffee!!! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States